Posted by: Hil | June 26, 2008

Magical Chicken Vegetable Soup

The husband always makes me this chicken soup when I am sick.  I confess that I do not fully understand how he makes it taste so good, but I think that part of the flavor comes from the fact that he almost burned the veggies the first time he made the soup.  The veggies, epsecially the onions, became all caramelized and delicious.  As the soup simmered, that caramelized vegetable flavor really infused through the broth, making it that wonderful rich brown color.  Regardless, it’s the best chicken soup I’ve ever had in my life.  The ingredients:  onion, zucchini, celery, carrot, chicken breast, chicken or vegetable broth, and fresh or dried herbs (parsley, oregano, sage and rosemary).  As far as I can tell, he just cooked the veggies and chicken in some olive oil until the yummy caramelized point mentioned above, added all the other ingredients and let the soup simmer for half an hour or so.

EDIT:  I clearly failed to fully convey the proper method of preparing the soup, so here we have a special report, straight from the husband, on the nuances of the recipe!

The Nuanced version:

So, the way I make this soup is basically to have NOTHING prepared in advance (pretty smart on my part, huh?)  That means nothing cut, nothing thawed!  So.  We begin by heating up some olive oil in a soup pot.  While its heating up, I cut the onions as thin/thick as I want them (depends on the day and my dexterity at the moment).  When they’re cut, the oil is nice and hot, and they sizzle so delightfully once they go in.

At this point, we start with the other veggies, carrots, celery and zucchini in that order.  Chop, add, stir, move on to the next one.  By the time you’re done with these, the onion should be beginning to caramelize nicely.

Take out your chicken tenders and defrost them (I usually go for 3 minutes in the microwave, but whatever works).  Cut them up and drop them into the pot, stir, and let the chicken start to cook.  By the time you add the chicken, the onions should be nicely carmelized (and the zuchinni should be starting to brown too!)

Add your broth, whatever seasonings you want, make sure the solids are all covered in liquid, and simmer for half an hour.

~The Lemonator


Responses

  1. Mmm – I love chicken noodle/vegetable soup, but have never tried to make it myself! I love the “nuanced version” – it seems like a great method! I will definitely have to give it a try sometime :)

  2. This was the cutest post ever! I adore your blog :) And thanks so much to THE LEMONATOR for enlightening us SO, with this recipe! And to your beautiful wife for sharing that picture! Yummmmy I totally cannot wait to make this soon! :)

  3. [...] Magical Chicken Vegetable Soup [...]

  4. [...] earlier this week.  He appears to be over the worst of it now, so I attempted to make him the magical chicken vegetable soup that he always makes me when I am sick.  It was good, but not quite the same as when he makes [...]

  5. This soup is AMAZING and SOOO easy! I make it every time I’m sick now and can whip it up quickly (which is nice since I’m in college!) Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe.

  6. Great recipe! Altered the veggies a bit and it’s easy and tasty.

  7. [...] Chicken soup (of course!), particularly if you can talk someone else into making it for you. [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

