Posted by: Hil | June 21, 2008

Here we go

I have always liked healthy food.  Bell pepper sticks and whole wheat bread and tofu are as much a part of my childhood food memories as hamburgers and spaghetti.  The problem is that healthy food takes time to prepare.  Thus, it’s very easy to fall back on whatever happens to be around rather than taking the time to make a real meal.  Believe me, I know.  I was somewhat spoiled growing up with a parent who cooked me wonderful meals every day, but when I went away to college, I fell back on pizza and convenience foods just like many of my friends.  I didn’t have easy access to a kitchen, and even when I did, I was intimidated to even try.  It wasn’t going to be as good as my mom’s cooking, so why even try?

When I got married a year ago, my husband and I made a pact to eat dinner together every night, and we did.  At that point, something clicked in my brain and I decided that from then on, cooking real meals was going to be a priority for me.  Cooking every night was a new thing for me, and I can’t say that I was great at it right away.  Some nights I burned or oversalted things.  But I came to love making dinner.  It was a creative outlet and a special time with family.  And, eventually, it became a much needed way of taking care of myself and thinking about the food I was putting into my body. 

I’ve grown in my own healthy eating over the past year, as well.  Like half of the Western Hemisphere, I’ve done my share of overly restrictive eating plans.  This time, I was determined not to make changes that I didn’t think I would be happy keeping up forever.  So I focused on gradual changes and on learning to make healthy food that kept me happy and satisfied.  Gradual changes mean gradual results, but they are results nonetheless:  over the past year I’ve lost 15 pounds.  Better yet, I’m not constantly waiting for when I can eat like a normal person.  I love the way I am eating and I want to eat this way forever.

This is not to say that I have it all figured out.  I may be happier and more energetic when I’m eating well, but stress and birthday parties and life happen to me too.  Sometimes I overindulge.  Sometimes I go for the easy option rather than the healthy option.  But I really believe that I have changed my life for the better.

Responses

  1. […] lot has changed on this blog and in my life since my very first post.  The fundamentals, however, have stayed pretty consistent.  At its core, this blog is […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

