Posted by: Hil | June 21, 2008

Saturday morning rituals

I have a Saturday morning ritual that I deeply love.  While there are many things that require compromise in marriage, there is one issue that my husband and I cannot agree on:  sleeping in on Saturday.  I can’t do it.  I am pretty much incapable of waking up more than two hours after my normal wakeup time.  For my husband, sleeping in is the entire point of Saturday mornings!  Since we live in a studio apartment, there isn’t exactly much for me to do that wouldn’t wake him up.

We eventually came up with a solution.  Every Saturday morning, I walk a mile and a half to my favorite neighborhood Starbucks.  I get myself a nonfat latte and maybe some fruit salad to start my day.  Some days I talk to friends on my cell phone or read a book.  Then I walk to a nearby specialty grocery store, browse to see what is on sale, and then carry my groceries back home with me.  If, at the end of all of this, the husband is still in bed (which he almost always is), I have permission to wake him up.  It’s a good system…I get in a nice long walk, enjoy the sunshine, and have an excuse to pay too much for espresso and fruit.  The husband gets to sleep in.  It’s amazing to me how this tradition makes a light healthy, breakfast and a long walk seem like an indulgence!

Today, as always, I walked to Starbucks and picked up an iced tall nonfat latte.  Starbucks has been making amazing fruit salads of late, so today I picked up a mix of mango, kiwi and strawberries.

After picking up some groceries and walking back home, I rounded off my breakfast with half of a toasted Ezekiel English muffin spread with natural peanut butter.

I eat something like this almost every Saturday morning, but it always makes me happy!

Responses

  1. Just stopping by from over at Blog to Lose. The website looks great. And what a great compromise for Saturday mornings. My husband and I would be the opposite. I love Saturdays for sleeping in and he can’t ever sleep late.

  2. Thanks for being my first real comment, Christy!

  3. I LOVE THIS POST. Isn’t it funny how our very favorite things are sometimes the simplest?

  4. […] blogged before about my Saturday tradition of walk + coffee + grocery shopping while my husband sleeps in.  This morning, I had a cup of fruit […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

