Posted by: Hil | June 22, 2008

Shirataki noodle stir-fry

If you haven’t yet tried shirataki noodles, you really should.  They come packed in water, and all you have to do is rinse them with hot water and then heat them up.  They are high in fiber, low in calories and carbohydrates, and have a nice neutral taste that works well for light stir-fries.  The entire package, which contains multiple servings, contains only 40 calories.  I prefer whole wheat pasta with tomato sauce, but I love shirataki noodles for asian soups and stirfries.

Tonight, I made a stirfry with tofu, napa cabbage, bell pepper, baby bok choy, and Thai Basil.  I experimented with using a pre-flavored block of tofu, which tasted pretty good.  Not as good as if I’d had the time to  marinate it myself, but nice for making something quick.  For flavor, I added garlic, ginger, chili paste, soy sauce, and sesame oil.  I garnished it with a sprinkle of sesame seeds.  It was a nice light dinner that still had plenty of bulk to it.

Here is my helping, which was maybe 1/4 to 1/3 of the pan.  It looks like tons of food, but it’s very nutritious and low in calories.  It was a good dinner to have after eating lunch out and having sorbet midafternoon.

I think I may have some fruit for dessert in a bit.  Mango sounds good…

Responses

  1. I really want to try those noodles, but I haven’t been able to find them! What store did you find them at?

  2. I got these at Whole Foods, but I’ve seen them at regular grocery stores, too. You find them in the refrigerated section. Typically they are near the tofu, but sometimes they will be near the wonton wrappers and other fresh pasta.

    You’ll have to tell me what you think. Just a word of warning: they smell a little bit funny when they come out of the package–that is normal. Once you rinse them off and heat them, the smell should go away completely.

  3. […] was leftover tofu vegetable stir-fry with shirataki noodles.  Stir-fries can be a bit limp after sitting around and reheating, so I tossed in some fresh baby […]

  4. Hi there – I came across your blog and was reading through posts, etc and saw this one on the Shirataki noodles. They are readily available at my grocery store and I’ve purchased and tried them (prepping per the package instructions).. but I found them to be virtually unstomachable!… and I love most foods of the asian and tofu varieties. Any tips on perhaps preparing them differently so they are palatable?

    thanks, cheers, and bon appetite!

  5. Is it taste or texture that is getting to you? If you don’t like the chewy texture, you may be stuck, although I hear that different brands vary in that regard. The fettucine shaped noodles are softer, in my experience, so you may want to try those. There shouldn’t be an off flavor if you’ve rinsed them well and heated them up with some kind of flavoring. In case it wasn’t clear, in the above recipe, I heated the noodles in the pan with the stir-fry….I didn’t just add the stir-fry on top.

    I would never use shirataki noodles in a dish where the noodles were the main point (pad thai, etc.), and as I said, I don’t think they work well with Italian flavors. I know some people who put them in fettuccine alfredo, but that just sounds gross to me. I like them as a convenient low-calorie way to bulk up asian soups and stir-fries. But they definitely don’t have the texture of a standard noodle, so I can understand if others don’t enjoy them as much as I do.

  6. Lots of suggestions on how to use them and get them at http://www.miraclenoodle.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

