Posted by: Hil | June 23, 2008

Easy fish dinner

This dinner is incredibly easy and no-fuss and I have it often.  I just rubbed the tilapia with salt, lemon pepper and Italian seasoning and seared it in a hot pan with a bit of oil.  It cooks in just a few minutes.  The whole wheat spaghetti is dressed with olive oil, garlic and salt.  I often have this dinner with just the fish and some veggies, but I was really craving pasta tonight.  The salad is just baby arugula tossed with some homemade balsamic dressing.

I personally hate store bought salad dressing.  Most of them are gross and even the good ones are rarely better than just tossing your salad with good oil and vinegar.  There’s nothing wrong with tossing salad with oil and vinegar, but I’ve gotten hooked on whisking up my own dressings from scratch.  I just love the consistency of a nice emulsified dressing.  The secret ingredient in my basic vinaigrette is dijon mustard: it binds the dressings and gives them body and a nice creamy texture.  My basic method is pretty simple:  Squirt some mustard into a liquid measuring cup (or a bowl). 

Add some lemon juice or vinegar…enough to almost, but not quite cover the mustard. 

Whisk the mixture with a fork until it is well combined.  Check to see how much liquid you have in the cup and add an equal amount of extra virgin olive oil.  Whisk until the mixture is emulsified.  Season with salt and pepper.  You can also add fresh or dried herbs.  Then toss with your salad!

Responses

  1. I looove tilapia! Yours looks great – if you like nuts, you should definitely try coating it with chopped almonds and baking it in the oven. SO delicious!

  2. I’ve been wanting to try a nut crust for ages, but haven’t got around to it. Do you need to do anything special to make the nuts stick?


Leave a Reply

Categories

