Posted by: Hil | June 25, 2008

Banana Oatmeal with Greek Yogurt and Raspberry Puree

This morning’s breakfast was a combination of inpsiration and improvisation.  I woke up feeling really sick.   I have a horrible sore throat and a slightly queasy stomach, so oatmeal sounded like a good idea.  Unfortunately, we were completely out of milk.  I considered using buttermilk for some protein (which is delicious, by the way), but I’d just read an intriguing post about a combination of oatmeal, yogurt and fruit puree over at Suite Apple Pie, so I decided to go with that.  Since I also had some rapidly ripening bananas to contend with, I decided to make it whipped banana oatmeal ala Kath.  This basically consists of adding very thin banana slices to your oatmeal and then whisking it vigorously until there are no more lumps.  The sweetness and banana flavor permeate throughout, making the oatmeal very, very tasty.

My one typical complaint about the whipped banana oatmeal is the texture, which is very, very creamy.  Creaminess is not a bad thing in a bowl of oatmeal, but I like my oatmeal with more chew.  Today, I tried giving my oats a good long toast first and adding a little less water and that did the trick just fine.  I also added a good shake of cinnamon for extra flavor.

My “fruit puree” was just frozen raspberries heated on high in the microwave with some sugar/honey/sweetener and tiny splash of water until they broke down.  When they were done heating, I gave them a vigorous stir/mashing with a fork and they broke down perfectly.  This method is great for making instant sauce for pancakes, crepe filling, spread for toast, etc.

I actually really, really liked this breakfast.  You want to make sure that you can get a little bit of the yogurt, fruit and oatmeal in every bite for optimum yumminess.  I served it with ginger tea (for my throat) and spoonful of peanut butter (to add some fat and protein).

Responses

  1. Aw, hope you feel better! It looks as though you should be well on your way with that breakfast. I like the look of that raspberry “puree” – easy to do, and tastes great!

  2. […] to get done by the end of the week, so it was back to work with me today.  For breakfast, I had oatmeal with greek yogurt and raspberry puree again.  I was out of bananas, so today I flavored the oatmeal with ground ginger, chopped […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

