Posted by: Hil | June 25, 2008

Lemon Sage Chicken in Parchment Packets

Credit for the idea for this goes to Roni at Green Lite Bites.  I cooked up chicken breasts in parchment packets with zucchini, bell pepper, lemon slices, sage and rosemary.  After consulting a few websites, I decided to try cooking it for 25 minutes at 375.  The bigger breasts were cooked perfectly, but the smaller ones were a little overcooked…very easy to do with boneless skinless chicken breast.  I think it was just one of those every-oven-is-different things.  I’m more of a stove cook, so I’m still getting used to the way my oven behaves.  Regardless, the flavors were good.  I will have to try this again later to see if I can perfect the method.  I bet it would work well with fish, too!

Responses

  1. I’ve never tried the parchment method – it looks interesting! I’d be scared that after all that wrapping, I’d unwrap it and find they weren’t ready!

  2. I was worried about that, too. You can kind of poke at them from the outside to see how they feel, and you can see if they smell done. I also wrapped them so that I could pull the edges of the wrapping apart just slightly so that I could stick a knife in to test them.

  3. WOW that looks good!

    I was worried about the same thing! LOL and I did open one pack at the 15 minute mark to take a “reading”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

