Posted by: Hil | June 26, 2008

Rice Pudding Porridge

I’m still sick.  I woke up feeling pretty sick to my stomach, but eventually decided that I needed to get something into my system.  Unfortunately, whole grains aren’t necessarily the easiest on a sick stomach.  I hunted through my entire kitchen and found only two refined grain products:  all-purpose flour and white rice.  Rice it was.  Then it occurred to me to make a version of rice pudding.  Rice pudding is great comfort food, and the milk and egg would get some protein in me.  I call it a porridge rather than just a pudding because a standard dessert rice pudding would have significantly more cream and sugar and would probably be served cold.  This version came out a bit like a cross between rice pudding and a hot breakfast cereal.  One of these days, I may post a real dessert rice pudding recipe, but this version makes a great comforting breakfast for a sick day.

Rice Pudding Porridge

2 cups milk
1/4 cup white rice
1 egg
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla
Shake of cinnamon
pinch of salt
raisins (optional)

1.  Add milk and rice to a saucepan and bring to a boil, then reduce heat.

2.  Beat together egg, vanilla and brown sugar.  Temper the egg mixture by gradually adding in some of the hot milk/rice mixture, whisking the whole time.  When you have brought the temperature of the egg mixture up, add the heated egg mixture to the saucepan, whisking the whole time.

3.  Turn the stove to low heat.  Sprinkle some cinnamon into the mixture and stir continually for 10-20 minutes, until the mixture is thick and the rice is tender.  Serve hot, garnished with extra cinnamon and raisins, if desired.   Serves 2.

Leave a Reply

Categories

