Posted by: Hil | June 27, 2008

Back to work

I’m still pretty sick, but I had a project that had to get done by the end of the week, so it was back to work with me today.  For breakfast, I had oatmeal with greek yogurt and raspberry puree again.  I was out of bananas, so today I flavored the oatmeal with ground ginger, chopped crystallized ginger and honey.  It worked very well.

Lunch was leftover tofu vegetable stir-fry with shirataki noodles.  Stir-fries can be a bit limp after sitting around and reheating, so I tossed in some fresh baby spinach and basil leaves, which perked it right up.

This wasn’t a lot of food, so I supplemented with some fruit.  I was going to pack my own fruit, but I realized I was all out, so I made an emegency purchase of some fruit salad at Starbucks.  Overpriced, but it did the trick.  I really needed fruit today.

While I was there, these oat flake cookies caught my eye, so I decided to try some.  They were pretty good, and a bit healthier than normal cookies.  They had a bit of fiber from the oats and less saturated fat than something like shortbread.  While these were good, I think that I eat cookies rarely enough that next time I might just get a real Madeline or biscotti or even shortbread.  If you’re only eating one small cookie, it might as well be the one you’re really craving.

I also had a few snacks, which I had to eat on the run, so no pictures: Ak-Mak crackers with the last of the farmer’s market sheep cheese, and some dried apricots and apple slices and pecans.

Leave a Reply

Categories

