Posted by: Hil | June 29, 2008

Lunch and a Concert

Today was wonderful.  I knew there would be lots of good food coming up, so I started my day with nonfat greek yogurt and fresh fruit stand apricots.  Sustaining, but I knew it would leave me hungry enough to enjoy a good restaurant lunch. 🙂

The husband and I met up with one of our best friends from college for lunch at a cute casual-gourmet cafe.  The husband had a fabulous dish of carbonara (which I tasted) and my friend had a to DIE for oven-hot pizza with goat cheese and mushrooms (which I also tasted).  I had a salad with arugula, tuna, yukon gold potato, red onion and olive vinaigrette.  It had so many of my favorite foods and was just what I was in the mood for!  It came with little slices of sourdough toast and a ridiculously large glob of compound butter.  I ate most of the salad, but just had one of the toasts with a dab of the butter (which was delicious).  To go with, I had a glass of pinot noir.

After lunch, we went to a great outdoor concert for Vienna Teng, one of my favorite singer songwriters.  The event was really small, so I got an autograph and a picture afterward.  And I got to make a song request during the concert!

When we got home, we fixed ourselves some dinner, which consisted of…

1.  Barbecued wild salmon with a spice rub (concocted by the husband)

2.  Mexican slaw with finely diced cabbage, tomato, red onion, radishes, cilantro, pickled jalepeno peppers, avocado, seasoning salt, and a splash of the pickling juice from the peppers.  SO GOOD.

3.  Fresh pineapple

4.  And a small piece of good sourdough bread with butter.

Here is my dinner plate.  The husband had to help me finish my salmon, but I had a big second helping of the salad.

Responses

  1. What a fabulous day of treats. The salad at lunch sounds amazing, and the salmon looks gorgeous! Everything sounds so healthy and nourishing- hope you enjoyed!

  2. I definitely did enjoy! “Nourishing” is such a great word to describe food like this…food that gives you energy and makes you feel good, besides just tasting good.

  3. […] Lunch was grilled habanero turkey sausage, leftover black bean and corn salad, and mexican slaw. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

