Posted by: Hil | July 1, 2008

Chicken dinner and a lunch out

The theme of last night’s dinner was “let’s make frozen chicken tenders seem more special than they really are.”  So I pan-fried them in a little olive oil with herbs de provence and topped them with a white wine reduction.  My mom (who we are visiting) made the salad, which is chopped tomatos from our neighbor’s garden, fresh basil, farmers market cucumbers and red onion.  I think the dressing was just olive oil and salt and pepper.  We also had a nice french baguette.  I’m not normally a big bread eater and I never keep white bread at home, but if I can get a slice of a really good baguette, that always makes a meal seem more special to me.  So I had a small slice with butter (picture above) and one more smaller slice to sop up the tomato juices left on my plate.

Today the husband and I went out to lunch at my favorite natural foods co-op around here.  It’s just wonderful healthy food without the price mark-ups or gourmet aspirations of a place like Whole Foods.  I had a vegetarian burrito with black beans, brown spanish rice and jack cheese and a side of arugula and beet salad.  I ate about 3/4 of the burrito and all of my salad.

For dessert, I had one of their famous millet cookies, which are deliciously nutty chewy and hard to describe.  The dough is made largely of tahini and is sweetened with maple syrup.  Unusual, but yummy.  It was pretty big, so I ate half at lunch and saved the other half for an afternoon snack.

Responses

  1. Mm that millet cookie looks amazing!
    And you have such self restraint when it comes to bread- I am so impressed!

  2. Anna–you’ve just made my day. I don’t think anyone has ever told me that I have self-control around bread before. I think there will be a post on this subject very soon.

  3. […] left a comment on yesterday’s post that made me simaltaneously proud and amused, complimenting me on my self-control around bread.  […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

