Posted by: Hil | July 2, 2008

Classic Breakfast

I had my favorite breakfast today:  a sprouted grain English muffin with peanut butter, nonfat Greek yogurt with fresh white nectarine slices and coffee with a splash of cream.  My mother is the one who introduced me to nonfat Greek yogurt, so she always keeps lots of it in the house.  And the house is always full of fruit stand produce in the summer.  I picked up the English muffins at the natural foods co-op yesterday.  They did not have the Ezekiel 4:9 variety (my favorite!) so I got the 7 grain instead, which was also very good.

Unfortunately, I have no pictures of my dinner from last night!  We had a dinner with another friend from college, and I never got a chance to snap a picture of the food before we ate!  The guys wanted to grill some steaks, so we got a  piece of flank steak.  I think flank steak is my favorite cut of beef after filet mignon…it’s nice and lean and very flavorful, and because it’s supposed to be served in slices rather than whole steaks, it’s easy for me to exercise portion control and only take what I want.  We also bought some zucchini, which we marinated in lemon juice and olive oil and threw on the grill with the steak.  To round out the meal, we had corn on the cob and whole wheat spaghetti with puttanesca sauce.

Leave a Reply

Categories

