Posted by: Hil | July 3, 2008

Black Bean and Corn Salad

This is my absolute favorite summer lunch salad.  It is inexpensive, easy to prepare, healthy, and beautiful to look at.  I love the contrast of colors and flavors.  It consists of a can of black beans, 2/3 can of corn, tomato, fresh basil, extra virgin olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper.  That’s it.  If you don’t have really great tomatoes, I recommend substituting a diced red bell pepper, which I use all the time in the winter.  You can also substitute another herb for the basil.  Cilantro gives a nice spicy kick.  You can even use a spicy baby green like spinach or arugula.  The leftovers are great as a side dish with dinner. 

I had about a third of the batch of salad along with some whole wheat spiced pita chips dipped in baba ganoush.  As with bread, I make these “chips” in a small batch and eat them with my meal rather than before.  I scaled down the recipe to use only 1 pita.  My husband split the batch with me, so I ended up eating about half a pita’s worth of chips.  These chips are a great way to add some bulk to a light meal, and they really satisfy a craving for crunchy food.

Here is the whole thing together:

Responses

  1. That salad looks so yummy and fresh!! I love beans & corn in salad…it tastes so summery! I love that you make home-made chips too…that’s so cool! I’ve tried it once, and the came out crispy, but not very flavorful. ( I just used a whole wheat tortilla …. I may need to perfect my technique!)

    Happy 4th!

  2. The recipe that I linked to for the chips is a pretty good one, alhtough I just use it as a basic template. I just mix up a paste of olive oil, whatever spices I have, and a bit of salt and rub it into the pita triangles. They always come out with lots of flavor.

    Happy 4th to you, too!

  3. […] was grilled habanero turkey sausage, leftover black bean and corn salad, and mexican […]

  4. […] Black Bean and Corn Salad […]

  5. […] bean, quinoa and corn salad fits the bill.  It’s really just a winterized version of the black bean and corn salad that I subsist on during the summer.  I combined a can of black beans, half a can of corn, some […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

