Posted by: Hil | July 3, 2008

Quesadilla night

Last night my mom came home with fresh, handmade tortillas that a colleague’s mother made for her.  There is absolutely nothing like the texture of a fresh tortilla.  They just aren’t the same when they’ve been sitting on a store shelf for a week.  Of course, these had to be incorporated into dinner.  We decided to make chicken quesadillas topped with pico de gallo and avocado slices.  Since we needed some vegetables to round out the meal, I improvised a veggie-fajita inspired dish that included zucchini, bell pepper and red onion cooked with cumin and coriander and other mexican spices.  The veggie dish was a winner…I will definitely be making that again!  To drink, I had a gin and (diet) tonic wth lime:  my favorite summer drink. 

The quesadillas were delicious, but my body wasn’t too crazy about taking in that much white flour without much in the way of protein or whole grains to balance it out.  I woke up this morning much, much hungrier than normal.  I’ve reacted to processed grains that way ever since I was a kid.  If I’d had time, I would have made a side of black beans to add some extra protein and fiber to the meal, but this dinner was thrown together pretty fast.  I think some clean eating will be in order for the next few meals, but you only have access to homemade tortillas every once in awhile!

I started off today with my standard breakfast:  sprouted grain English muffin with peanut butter, nonfat Greek yogurt with a sliced apricot, and coffee with a splash of cream.  As mentioned above, I was extremely hungry this morning, so I ended up eating the other half of my English muffin (spread with more peanut butter).  I find that the best way to respond to a post-refined carb “hungry day” is to stick to healthy foods, but not worry too much if I’m eating more than normal.  Pretty soon my blood sugar always evens out and I feel normal again.

Responses

  1. Mmm, I absolutely love quesadillas! I totally agree with you on the fresh tortillas – I went to Guatemala and the ones I had there were unlike any other.

    I’m adding you to my blogroll too 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

