Posted by: Hil | July 6, 2008

July 5

The day after any major holiday is always about leftovers, so I won’t bore you with the details of breakfast and lunch.  Dinner, on the other hand, was something special.

We started with mushrooms sauteed with shallots, garlic, white wine, olive oil and butter paired with Veuve Cliquot champagne.  Mireille Guiliano says that this is one of her favorite food-wine pairings, so when we saw the normally very-expensive champagne on sale, we decided to try it.  It was delicious.  The mushrooms taste great with this preparation, and they paired nicely with the champagne.  The champagne itself was very good, but definitely not worth its typical $50 price tag–I’ve had champagnes half that price that were just as nice.  But it was a very fun experiment!

Dinner was wild salmon grilled in foil with ras al hanout, corn on the cob, and fruit stand green beans with lemon and olive oil.  This dinner was really all about simple preparations of quality ingredients.

We found the salmon at Costco.  Costco has such amazing variety and good quaity in their proteins and produce.  When they have wild salmon in stock, I always jump on it.  We just rubbed it with olive oil and ras al hanout, wrapped it in foil, and stuck it on the barbecue.  It cooks very quickly, and you don’t even have to flip it.

The green beans are from the fruit stand I blogged about a couple days ago.  They are so fresh and yummy that you really don’t want to do much to them, but they do taste great with lemon, so we microwaved them for a few minutes (sounds less classy than steaming, but does basically the same thing) and tossed them with lemon juice, lemon zest, olive oil and salt.

I don’t know that I can adequately explan how good corn is when it’s perfectly ripe and in season.  It’s so much better than the typical grocery store stuff that I tend to eat fruit stand corn almost every day during the month when it is in season and then go without the rest of the year.  The husband had never had corn like this until he first visited my family over the summer when we were dating…he was completely blown away.  I never put butter or salt on my corn, and that has absolutely nothing to do with health reasons…I don’t want to mask the corn flavor!  When you are picking corn, here are some things to remember:  The ears should feel very heavy for their size, and the kernels should be extremely firm and plump and glossy.  They should look almost like beads, like this:

Here is my final dinner plate:

Responses

  1. Wow- what an amazing dinner. You cook such beautiful, classy things. You have inspired me to make something pretty for my boyfriend tonight. So glad you enjoyed your delish meal!

  2. I’m so happy that I inspired you to cook something beautiful! One of my major goals with this blog is to show that it’s very doable and worthwhile to take a little time to make your food flavorful and pretty. I can’t wait to read about what you make!


Leave a Reply

Categories

