Posted by: Hil | July 7, 2008

Tilapia with Balsamic Tomato Sauce

This is pan-seared Tilapia with balsamic tomato sauce over whole wheat couscous and steamed spinach.  I love this dinner so much that I felt that it really merited its own post.  I got the idea from Ellie Krieger’s wonderful Food Network show Healthy Appetite.  I think that this particular recipe might have been an online extra at one point.  It’s incredibly easy and fast and makes a perfectly balanced meal, both in nutrients and flavors.

The balsamic tomato sauce could not be easier.  Put a can of diced tomatos into a pan.  Add a splash of balsamic vinegar.  Season with salt and pepper.  Let it reduce to a thick, yummy sauce.  The flavor is so strong and sweet…like nothing I’ve ever tasted before.  This has been a hit with everyone who I’ve made it for.

Fish doesn’t take long to cook, and spinach and couscous are both very quick cooking side dishes, so the meal comes together really fast.  (Tip:  I always make my couscous with vegetable broth rather than water, for maximum flavor).  Make sure to get the bites of sauce with EVERYTHING:  meat, couscous and spinach!

The original recipe used chicken, which is my typical protein for this dish, but the fish was also great.  You can even put the sauce straight over grains!

Responses

  1. I LOVE tilapia! There are so many great ways to make it – this method looks like a good one. And I’m always looking for quick-to-cook meals because I’m sooo hungry by the time I get home from work!

  2. that looks SO good! I just bought a new bottle of really good balsamic and need ways to use it. I’m definitely going to try this out soon!

  3. OKay, I Leeerrrrvveee Tilapia and this recipe looks outstanding! Yummmm, I love sweetness in my tomato sauce! The balsamic must do WONDERS! You=genius 🙂 Thanks again for such a fantastic recipe!

  4. […] Tilapia with Balsamic Tomato Sauce […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

