Posted by: Hil | July 12, 2008

Lazy Saturday

I’ve blogged before about my Saturday tradition of walk + coffee + grocery shopping while my husband sleeps in.  This morning, I had a cup of fruit salad (above) and an iced nonfat latte.

Typically, that would be it for me until I got home, but today I was extra hungry (probably because of my light dinner) and a beautiful chocolate croissant (not from Starbucks) was calling my name.  Croissants are one of my favorite things in the world and this one really hit the spot!

I had lots of groceries to carry home today because I am putting together a care package for my younger sister.  Blueberry Sis may be even more of a foodie than I am.  The last time I asked her what she was making for dinner, she nonchalantly replied, “Oh, mango cream soup, chicken with apricot cherry sauce and brussel sprouts.”  I kid you not.  And I’m pretty sure that she had profiteroles with chocolate sauce for dessert, as she’d made a big batch of those the day before.  Blueberry Sis is also allergic to EVERYTHING.  If the list of ingredients is long, she probably can’t eat it.  She is currently stranded at a summer program with nothing but dorm-type food to eat.  She’s allergic to a huge portion of what they serve and even what she isn’t allergic to just tastes bad.  So it’s Hil to the rescue with a nice package full of unprocessed snack foods with short ingredients lists and enough calories to keep her from starving to death.  Clockwise from top left:  kettle chips, herb popcorn, apricot cream cheese cookies, dried turkish apricots, roasted pistachios (the only nut she isn’t allergic to), and banana chips.

When Blueberry Sis first discovered this blog, she eagerly demanded to know if she could guest blog about French desserts (she spent a term doing an independent study project on them.)  She was distressed and disappointed to discover that this was a healthy food blog (ewwww!).  But I assured her that French desserts could certainly be a part of this blog from time to time.  So be prepared for an eventual guest blog from Blueberry Sis on French desserts, and be prepared to whip out all of your butter and cream!

Responses

  1. Awwww poor Blueberry Sis! But you ae TOO sweet, Hil, to send her a care package!!! I have food allergies, and hav never had a big sister (or any sister, for that matter)… Wanna be mine and send me one???? 😉

    -PS- That croissant looks SO lovely! I wonder… If anyone’s ever tried to make a vegan croissant???

  2. Julz–I’m sure someone’s tried a vegan croissant at some point. Vegetarian/vegan resources on the internet are amazing! I’m not sure how well it would work, because cold butter is basically the whole point of a croissant. Flavor issues aside, I don’t know that you could get margarine to be solid enough. And I’m very creeped out by trans-fat, so I’ll take my butter-based pastry any day. Are you vegan? I thought that you blogged about fish a few times…

  3. Nope, I’m not vegan or vegetarian. I’m a “whatever I am eating/loving right now,” despite the fact that I don’t like meat/have never eaten it (gives me serious indigestion and a yucky taste in my mouth). I use chicken stock and egg whites, eat fish (mostly just raw/sashimi). BUT, I am lactose intolerant and when I bake, I do not use animal products… I never get tummy aches when I eat vegan cookies/cakes/cupcakes/pies, so that’s my preference!

  4. I meant “have never been a meat eater”… I HAVE eaten it before, lol. Just to clear things up!

  5. Aw, so nice of you to make such a delicious foodie package for Blueberry Sis – I’m looking forward to the French dessert post, for sure!

  6. […] the care package that I put together for Blueberry Sis over the weekend?  Well, she got it today, and she seems […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

