Posted by: Hil | July 12, 2008

Savory French Toast

This lunch meets all of my qualifications for a go-to meal:  it’s nutritious, inexpensive, fast and tasty.  It also gets bonus points for having a bit of panache.  I love things that are easy to make, but seem just a little bit novel or gourmet–it makes meals much more interesting.  For the batter, I beat one egg with a splash of milk, fresh grated parmesan, some Italian seasoning, and a bit of salt.  I soaked two slices of whole wheat rosemary bread in the batter for a few minutes and then cooked it in a hot pan with a little bit of butter and olive oil.  When it was done, I served it hot with a little bit more grated parmesan, along side some farmers market tomatoes and wilted baby spinach.  It was delicious and very filling–the husband had to help me finish my food.  The only thing I would change next time is the amount of batter I made.  I buy large eggs, and this made just enough batter for my bread.  So unless you buy extra-large or jumbo eggs, I would use a ratio of more like three eggs for every five slices of toast.

Responses

  1. Savory Italian French Toast…genius! Anything with italian seasoning, garlic, cheese in my book is delish!

  2. mmm savory French toast is a grand idea!


Leave a Reply

Categories

