Posted by: Hil | July 13, 2008

Weekend Eats

This is just going to be a quick update on the culinary goings on of the last 24 hours.  More interesting posts to follow…

Last night, the husband cooked dinner.  Unsurprisingly, this involved red meat.  We had grilled lean beef, corn on the cob, and steamed broccoli.

This morning, thrilled to have my beloved peanut butter back, I opted for my default breakfast:  nonfat yogurt with strawberries and half of a toasted Ezekiel English muffin with peanut butter.

 

Sunday lunch is normally date time for me and my husband, but we ended up going out with some friends from our church choir, instead.  They vetoed our favorite Indian restaurant in favor of a nearby Thai place.  It was okay, but not great.  I enjoyed my food, but considering the fact that I could have gotten a beautifully prepared all-you-can-eat Indian buffet across the street for less money, it didn’t quite measure up.  I started with some fresh veggie spring rolls: veggies and a few rice noodles wrapped up in rice paper (not the deep-fried kind).  I was really craving the crunch of the veggies, but they were far from the best spring rolls I’ve ever had…they were filled mostly with lettuce and didn’t have much flavor or textural contrast.  Good spring rolls should always have herbs like cilantro and basil and mint, and these didn’t.  They came with a peanut dipping sauce, which I wasn’t crazy about.  It was too sweet for my tastes and it was definitely too thick– you couldn’t really dip the delicate rolls in the sauce without making them fall apart.  

For my main course, I had a green coconut chicken curry with green beans, basil and bamboo shoots.  It was good, but it lacked the depth and nuance of flavor that makes curries so delicious.  I didn’t want to whip out my camera while I was with friends, so I don’t have any pictures of the spring rolls.  I did, however, snap a shot of my leftover curry when I got home:

I think it’s back to my beloved Indian food next week!

Leave a Reply

Categories

