Posted by: Hil | July 14, 2008

Chickpea and vegetable curry

IMG_1442 

I know that I had curry for lunch, but the so-so green chicken curry I had earlier bears no resemblance to the hearty chickpea and vegetable curry that I made for dinner last night.  I love this dish.  It’s flavorful, filling, and I almost always have all the ingredients on hand.  And practical considerations aside, this is comfort food of the highest caliber.  It’s hot and feels great on your throat and in your belly, and it’s full of nourishing, nutritious ingredients.

My method is pretty basic: I cook up onion, celery, carrot and anything else that I have on hand (bell pepper is good) in a nonstick pan until they begin to soften.  Next, I add a can of diced tomato, a can of drained chickpeas (garbanzo beans), a splash of broth and spoonful of curry paste.  Curry paste is a pantry staple for me…it has a world more flavor than plain old curry powder and it makes simple dishes taste like you spent hours fussing over them.  If you want, you can add your own spices to the mix as well to add your own personal touch to the dish.

Next, I give the ingredients a good stir, cover the pan and let it simmer for as much time as I have.  The cook time on this is very flexible as long as the veggies are adequately softened at the beginning.  If you have time, longer cooking will make it better, but if you’re in a rush, you can make that work, too.  I serve this over whole wheat couscous and garnish with fresh herbs (I used basil tonight) and nonfat yogurt.

Responses

  1. Goodness girl … this looks soooooooooo good. I need to catch up on what you are doing and all this good looking food.

  2. Thank you for this post! I have always wanted to make curry but had no idea- I can’t wait to buy some curry paste and give this a try!

  3. mmm I love curry! I grew up with a god mother from singapore who used to always make the most authentic and tasty curries. I was also the girl who always asked for my birthday dinner to be at my favorite Indian restaurant. Haha. Mmm!


Leave a Reply

Categories

