Posted by: Hil | July 18, 2008

Farmers Market Thursday

IMG_1535 

Today, I got to have my weekly farmers market lunch.  As it turned out, it was my only leisurely meal of the day!  This little girl asked if she could sit at my table.  I, of course, agreed.  She looked so cute and happy with that coconut to sip on! 

IMG_1531 

I had a midmorning snack of some rye crackers with peanut butter, so I wasn’t overly hungry.  I got a spinach salad with cranberries and pecans with fresh orange vinaigrette.  It was delicious, but I had a small corner of room left, so I decided to get a bit of a treat.  Yes, that is indeed a personal size chocolate pecan pie!  It was amazing.  Most pecan pies have a very thick layer filling and just a thin layer of pecans on top.  This one had a nice thick layer of pecans interspersed with chocolate chips over a buttery crust with just enough filling to hold it all together.

IMG_1537

My best find at the farmers market was perfectly ripe nectarines!  I had one to round out my lunch.

Tonight, I had absolutely no energy to fix even something simple for dinner.  That rarely happens, but its exactly why I have emergency dinners on hand that I can grab.  Good dehydrated or canned bean soups figure prominently in the “emergency no-cook dinner” category, and tonight I decided to try a new flavor of Dr. McDougall’s soup:  Tamale!  It was very good, but not as good as the black bean and lime or split pea and barley.  The tamale flavor came through amazingly well, and it was very filling, but the texture was a bit odd.  It came with corn chips in it, but they were already mixed in, so they pretty much dissolved into mush by the time the soup hydrated.

IMG_1540

I also had another yellow nectarine and some of the leftover cold Szechuan green beans. 

 IMG_1538

Responses

  1. that pecan pie looks so adorable and delicious!! i love fresh produce markets 🙂

  2. Looove farmer’s markets, coconuts, and nectarines!! :0D

  3. Aw, that personal pecan pie is cute!

    I love quick, easy dinners that you don’t have to think about 🙂

  4. Aw that girl is cute. Farmer’s markets are so much fun! I love the looks of the pecan pie, and love the way you described it, it sounds sooo good.

  5. That pecan pie sure does look good. I made one once and it had a really fudge like texture. So good!

  6. The Farmers market is soo much fun. I am heading there tomorrow, as it is only opened on Saturdays in my city during the summer.


Leave a Reply

Categories

