Posted by: Hil | July 19, 2008

Unconventional Breakfast

IMG_1563

Who says you can’t have sushi for breakfast?  Today, I was faced with a plethora of bad breakfast options: sugary muffins, falling apart quiche, over-priced gloppy oatmeal, over-cooked eggs, etc.  My old standby fruit salad was absent from Starbucks.  I was very unimpressed.  Normally in such circumstances, I would just take my latte home and eat something there, but I incredibly hungry today, and I couldn’t face the thought of walking two more miles with a heavy grocery bag over my shoulder without getting some food in my stomach first.  Then, as I was listlessly wandering around the Whole Foods Deli, I saw it:  a beautiful tuna-avocado sushi roll with brown rice.  It was perfect–whole grains, lean protein, and a good dose of omega 3s and monounsaturated fat.  It was bizarre–what would people think?  Then I thought of Blueberry Sis, who is known to eat things like tacos, baked potatoes, and cream of green chili soup for breakfast, due to her deep distaste for many traditional breakfast options.  I went for it.  Yes, people stared.  But it was exactly what I wanted, so I didn’t care!

Responses

  1. and I will note that one of my favorite breakfasts is Mac n Cheese… so… to each their own :p

  2. you can have sushi at ANY time of the day!! i’m one of those people who can eat pretty much anything for breakfast 🙂 but i just like breakfast-y foods anyway. but the sushi looks fantastic 🙂 i’m going to japan next tuesday, i’m sure i will have some good sushi there!

  3. Nice! The unconventional breakfast is sometimes the best route to go.

    I actually had sushi for lunch today! Great minds think alike 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

