Posted by: Hil | July 20, 2008

Lazy Sunday

IMG_1609

Today was my classic breakfast, but it seemed extra special because I finally got to eat Fage yogurt instead of the gross kind I bought before.  Normally, I buy Trader Joe’s nonfat Greek yogurt because it is much cheaper, but every once in awhile I treat myself to the Fage…it’s expensive, but the texture is amazing.

Lunch was date time with the husband.  We went out to our favorite Indian buffet before catching a showing of The Dark Knight.  On my plate:  tandoori chicken, a big helping of cucumber salad, a bite of spinach, a tomato and okra dish, and a small bite of lamb curry.

IMG_1614

I also had a cup of lentil soup, some cantaloupe, and a glass of unsweetened iced tea.

IMG_1613 

As an afternoon pick me up, I had a piece of cinnamon toast:  toasted Ezekiel English muffin, a sliver of butter, a drizzle of agave nectar, and a generous sprinkle of cinnamon.  I’ve weaned myself off of butter on bread for the most part, but sometimes nothing else will do.  I absolutely refuse to eat margarine or Smart Balance…I take a pretty dim view of fake food, healthy or no.  I would much rather eat just a little bit of the real thing.

IMG_1618

Dinner tonight was simple, but it made me so happy!  Costco used to sell big jars of absolutely delicious pesto, but I hadn’t seen it there in ages…until today.  I knew immediately what I was having for dinner.  I tossed some whole wheat angel hair with sun dried tomatoes, toasted pine nuts, pesto, parsley and red pepper flakes.  It was delicious.  You can’t see the pesto very well in the picture, but it was definitely there.  I only made two ounces of pasta, but I couldn’t finish…I think the pesto made it extra filling.  This means yummy leftovers for later.  Incidentally, Gia Russa is the absolute best brand of whole wheat pasta I have ever tasted…I highly recommend it.

IMG_1625

To go with my salad, I made up a simple arugula and cherry tomato salad.  Normally, I toss my salads with vinaigrettes, but I wasn’t in the mood for two oily dishes…I wanted something light and tangy to balance out the meal.  So I made a honey mustard dressing for the first time in my life.  When I tasted my attempt, I didn’t like it very much–I’ve never been one for sweet dressings–but it actually worked extremely well with the tomato and arugula.

IMG_1624

I’m off to go swimming before it gets dark.  Can’t believe that the weekend is almost over!

Responses

  1. That pasta dish looks amazing. I haven’t had pesto in forever but you’re making me want to run out and get some right now. So I might just be writing it on the next grocery list.

  2. Oh, how I love pesto. That is on the plan one night for me this week.

  3. I definitely need to go to Costco to get some of that pesto!!

  4. that pasta looks divine. i am such a huge pasta fan! actually all your food looks fantastic. also i adore fage too – i never used to eat it much but am hooked now!

  5. I LOVE Indian restaurant buffets. There is a great one near my school in Boston and I can’t wait to go back in the fall. They always bring out fresh, warm Naan that is just unbelievable!

  6. What a gorgeous dinner plate!


Leave a Reply

Categories

