Posted by: Hil | July 21, 2008

Monday

IMG_1630   

Breakfast this morning was banana oatmeal with cranberries, lowfat milk and sesame seeds.  I also had a small spoonful of peanut butter.  This breakfast didn’t hold me very well for some reasons.  Maybe it was substituting the milk for my usual yogurt?

Lunch, on the other hand, was very filling and delicious.  I had an Ezekiel English muffin with hummus and veggies, a piece of low fat string cheese, and red bell pepper sticks.  I normally use pita for sandwiches…I prefer sandwiches with lots of filling and just a little bit of bread…but I actually loved the English muffin.  It was chewy and filling and tasted great with the hummus and veggies. 

IMG_1637

I realized once I got to work that I’d forgotten to pack any fruit, so I dipped into an emergency cup of soup to round out the meal.  The tortilla flavor was good, but not nearly as hearty as most of the others.  This actually made it perfect for rounding out a meal, but I think I’ll be sticking to the other flavors for my lunches.

IMG_1640

For my afternoon snack, I had some fage yogurt and a bit of walnuts and dried apricots.  I also had a serving of Kashi crackers later on. 

IMG_1636

Dinner was exciting.  I found fresh wild salmon on sale at Costco over the weekend, so I cooked some up with garlic and herbs.  The side salad is Napa cabbage, arugula and Italian parsley chopped with lemon and olive oil.

IMG_1648

I also had a granny smith apple.

IMG_1641

All in all, not bad for a Monday.  And I now have LOTS of leftover salmon to work with for the rest of the week!

Responses

  1. Costco does it again! The salmon looks great 🙂

  2. Hil- your meals are so healthy and fabulous. That soup looks great- where do you get it?

  3. Anna–Thanks! I got the soup at Whole Foods, but I’ve seen them at other stores and you can also buy them online. I love Dr. McDougall’s soups…they tast great, they rehydrate in just a couple minutes and they are full of beans and whole grains and other good things. And they are vegan, for those who care. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

