Posted by: Hil | July 22, 2008

Tuesday Recap

IMG_1650

I have decided that I have an amazing hidden talent:  melon picking.  I’ve always been so afraid to choose them, but both of the times I’ve tried it, I’ve ended up with absolutely delicious, juicy ripe melons.  I got greedy and cut up half of a large melon, but only ended up being able to finish half of my bowl.

To go with my melon, I had half of an Ezekiel English muffin with peanut butter and a cup of coffee with cream.

IMG_1654 

Lunch today was delicious leftovers in the form of a salmon sandwich!  I spread an Ezekiel English muffin with a wedge of light laughing cow cheese, then topped it with crumbled salmon, capers and baby arugula.  This was amazing.  For some reason, I’ve never been a fan of meat sandwiches, but I make an exception for fish. 

IMG_1664

The sandwich was very filling, so I just had a small green apple to complete the meal.

IMG_1656

Snacks included a rye cracker with peanut butter…

 

IMG_1663

a small nonfat latte…

IMG_1666  

…and a serving of Fage yogurt. 

IMG_1661

Dinner was one of my favorite things: roast chicken!  Leg meat is higher in saturated fat than breast meat, but as a result it is typically very inexpensive.  We got a big package of chicken thighs on sale for just over $2.  As a once in awhile treat, I don’t worry about it.  I think the key to cooking skin-on dark meat is to cook them for plenty of time at high heat so that the skin becomes brown and crispy and the fat renders out.  Chicken is so delicious on its own that you really don’t need to do much to it…we just sprinkled these with seasoning salt and lemon pepper. 

IMG_1668

The salad is just arugula drizzled with sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, agave syrup and salt.  This combination was improvised on the spot and it was GREAT.  I will definitely be repeating this.  I also finished off the rest of my cut-up cantaloupe from breakfast.

Responses

  1. Congrats on being able to pick out good melon! Is there anything in particular that you looked for?

  2. Two things: 1. It should smell like melon…the stronger it smelles the better. 2. The end should be slightly yielding to the touch. I press on the little round depression at the end of the melon and try to find one that is more yielding than the rest. I don’t cut into the melon until the flesh just around that spot starts to feel a little bit yielding, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

