Posted by: Hil | July 23, 2008

Bottomless Pit Day

IMG_1674

Today was one of those days where I just seemed to feel hungry no matter what I did.  I started the morning with a quarter of my beautiful melon from yesterday and an Ezekiel English muffin with peanut butter.  I started with half, but I was absolutely starving, so I ended up eating the whole English muffin.

IMG_1675

I was hungry again by the time I got to work, so I swung by Starbucks and got myself a 2% latte.  I typically only order nonfat coffee drinks, but today I really needed the extra fat for sustenance.

IMG_1677

I decided to buy myself lunch instead of packing a sandwich…my strategy when I’m oddly hungry is to eat lots of protein and vegetables, extra fat, and a few low-GI carbs.  Bread was not going to hold me as the center of a lunch.  So I just packed myself an arsenal of healthy snacks:  low fat string cheese, an apple, rye crackers with hummus and pistachios.  Over the course of the day, I finished everything except for the pistachios…I took a bite of those and saved the rest for later.

IMG_1679

Lunch today was an absolutely AMAZING chopped salad.  It contained radicchio, iceberg lettuce, arugula, roasted corn and peppers, garbanzo beans, red onion, kalamata olives, capers, fresh mozzarella, and pepperoni.  It was perfect.  In spite of the many ingredients, it didn’t seem cluttered and no one ingredient overpowered the others.  The greens were fresh and crispy and were a legitimate part of the salad and not just a vehicle for dressing and cheese.  The amount of meat and cheese was perfect…just enough to make the salad filling, but not so much that the salad was overly heavy. 

IMG_1681

Dinner was another great salad: arugula, salmon, cannellini beans and toasted pine nuts dressed with lemon and olive oil.  It was delicious and filling and took no time to throw together.  My basic formula is lots of leafy greens (+ other veggies if I have them) + beans or whole grains + protein + nuts + vinaigrette.  You have protein, veggies, carbs and fat all in one beautiful dish.

IMG_1687

And for dessert, some grapefruit.

IMG_1684

Responses

  1. Both of those salads look great!

  2. For having a bottomless pit day, you made some seriously awesome choices, Hil. That salad you had for lunch looks so crisp and fresh. It has totally inspired me to have a salad for lunch today!

  3. Did you make that chopped salad, because it looks so professional!!

  4. Jenn–thanks! I’m gradually learning that it’s better not to fight the bottomless pit days…I just get grouchy and often end up eating something really unfortunate later. Now, I just try to eat as much healthy food as I need to to feel full, even if its a lot more than usual. (I don’t know how clear it is from the pictures, but both of those salads were big!) Oddly enough, I usually end up eating fewer calories if I do that than if I try to resist temptation and eat the way I normally do.

    Aimee–I definitely did not make that salad…sorry if I wasn’t clear. It was purchased. 🙂 I think it would be pretty doable to make on your own if you were motivated to buy all of the ingredients. The picture looks so pretty in part because of the great natural lighting in the restaurant: something which my apartment definitely lacks!

  5. the chopped salad and salmon look SOO good. and yeah, I’m having a bottomless pit day today too. You’ll see in my post this evening! HA!

  6. nothing beats a good salad in the summer!

  7. how did the 2% latte compare in flavor and filling power over skim? i always, always get nonfat but some days I really need a little extra to fill me up, maybe switching to 2% would do the trick? Thoughts/advice?

    Thanks!

    And those salads look delish! I love salmon!

  8. Sarah–I think this might be the first time I’ve ordered a non-skim espresso drink in over a year! I like the flavor of nonfat fine, but the 2% was definitely richer and creamier. And it was a lot more filling…I was surprised. If you’re extra hungry, trying out a 2% drink is definitely worth a shot.


Leave a Reply

Categories

