Posted by: Hil | July 24, 2008

Shrimp and Veggie Stir-fry

IMG_1715

I love stir-fries.  They are colorful and light and, prepared the right way, can give you high volume for not too many calories.  This one had a lot of ingredients which I think will sound a lot less scary if I break things down a bit.

Stage 1–Vegetables go in to the pan with a bit of oil: red peppers, then cabbage, then crushed garlic and fresh chopped ginger.

Stage 2–A package of shirataki noodles and a generous splash of soy sauce go into the pan.

Stage 3–Proteins:  When the noodles are hot, pre-coooked frozen shrimp and frozen edamame go straight into the pan.  They’ll defrost while you’re chopping your herbs.

Stage 4–When everything is heated through, I stir in some chopped scallions and cilantro, a dash of chili paste, and a drizzle of sesame oil.

Stage 5–After serving up the stir-fry, I garnish each helping with fresh mint, fresh basil and sesame seeds.

Did I need quite that many herbs?  Probably not.  I added extra for two reasons.  The first reason is that I didn’t have any spinach in the house, and I wanted the color, flavor and nutrients of darker leaves to contrast with the mild cabbage.  The second reason is that I just scored several huge bunches of fresh herbs at the farmers market and I need to use them up.  The stir-fry tasted great with the herb garnishes, but this works just fine with a single type of herb for garnish.  If you’re just going to pick one herb, I would go with basil or cilantro.

Responses

  1. I adore stir fry, too! I make it at least once or twice a week.


Leave a Reply

Categories

