Posted by: Hil | July 25, 2008

Blueberry Breakfast

IMG_1718

This morning I made up a batch of hot whole grain cereal made from a mix of oatmeal and bulgur wheat.  I topped it with Greek yogurt and some of my farmers market blueberries.  I know that my habit of topping oatmeal with yogurt is a little bit odd, but I really enjoy the taste and texture, and I find the yogurt a much more filling topping than milk.  And of course blueberries make everything better.

I didn’t make myself coffee in the morning and instantly regretted it.  I don’t drink coffee every day and don’t usually need to, but today was definitely a coffee day.  So I remedied the situation as soon as was conveniently possible.  I’ve been in a 12 oz. nonfat latte rut for ages now.  I may find my way back to that drink eventually, but I’ve decided to try to mix things up a bit.  Today, I ordered Blueberry Sis’s drink of choice:  double short (8 oz.) extra hot latte. 

[EDIT:  My mother just texted me very indignantly to inform me that my sister got that drink from her.  So I stand corrected, I ordered my mother’s drink.]

IMG_1727

Lunch was half a can of garbanzo beans with half an ounce of crumbled feta, roasted red pepper and Italian parsley. Very yummy.  I think beans are the perfect food.  They’re loaded with protein, fiber, and lots of vitamins and minerals and can serve as a complete meal all by themselves.  Add to that the fact that they are delicious, versatile and dirt cheap and you have a definite winner.

IMG_1729

To got with my beans I had farmers market strawberries…

IMG_1726

…three rye crackers…

IMG_1734

…and a little 8 ounce can of V-8 juice.

 

IMG_1732

For snacks, I had a serving of Kashi TLC crackers and a Luna bar.  I know that protein bars are fake food, which I generally disapprove of.  Luna bars taste good and have a solid nutritional profile, but they still have an ingredients list a mile long.  I try to minimize the number of these that I eat, but they can come in very handy when you’re hungry and nothing else healthy is available.  I always try to keep an emergency snack on hand in case my planned provisions fail me, and these end up in the rotation sometimes.  The oatmeal raisin flavor was very tasty.

IMG_1722 

To go with, I had a mug of Tazo Wild Sweet Orange tea.  I typically do not blog tea, but given the amount of this stuff that I down on a regular basis, I thought I would share it with you.  It isn’t really all that sweet…more just a pleasant citrusy taste that I love.  I drink it hot at work, but it’s also absolutely amazing iced.

IMG_1733

Fun things coming up for dinner…

Responses

  1. Don’t you just love ordering at Starbucks? It makes me feel like such a professional coffee drinking going in and giving such a specific drink order. Mine used to always be “Grande non-fat one pump sugar-free vanilla latte”. At first I would get nervous and stumble over all the request but then I got the hang of it. And then they introduced the “skinny latte” line and took away my fun. “Grande one pump skinny vanilla latte” just isn’t as fun. Haha, I’m a dork.

    I’ll have to try that tea–I’m still a coffee addict but I’m trying to get away from my diet soda addiction by drinking more tea. I’ve been failing miserably so far, so maybe this one will work for me.

  2. Sarah–Good luck with switching to tea! I’m not of the aspartame-will-kill-you school of thought, but I know my body is happier if I keep diet soda as an occasional treat for barbecues and such. There are so many great tea flavors to choose from. Mineral water with a squeeze of lemon is also a good substitute…it’s bubbly and fun to drink..

  3. I love that your mom called with the correction – my mom would do the same thing 🙂

    What do you typically add to your tea? I’m always wondering because I honestly can’t seem to drink it and it seems like so many people get so much joy out of drinking tea all the time. I feel like there has to be some way I could enjoy it!

  4. Jen–I don’t add anything to green or herbal teas unless I am sick and want lemon and honey. Ginger tea tastes especially amazing with lemon and honey in it. I occasionally add a packet of splenda to chai and if I have black tea with breakfast, I think that a splash of whole milk tastes very nice. But I almost always drink tea plain.

    Based on the fact that you always drink your coffee with cocoa in it, it makes sense to me that you wouldn’t like tea very much. I don’t see any reason to try to force yourself to like it. If you don’t like it, you don’t. And if you have to add a bunch of sugar or chemicals to it to be able to stomach it, then it’s probably not a taste you need to acquire.

    But I will say that not all teas taste alike. Black tea tastes nothing like green tea which tastes nothing like chamomile which tastes nothing like sweet orange. There are many types of tea that I absolutely cannot stand. I would try out a variety before giving up. You could try out some of the naturally sweet teas to see if you like those any better. (Sweet orange, most fruit flavored teas, vanilla flavored teas, anything with rooibos in it are good sweet options.)

  5. Thanks so much for your thoughtful response, Hil. I will definitely keep trying — but you’re completely right in that I would never want to add extra sugar and chemicals just to be able to say “I drink tea.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

