Posted by: Hil | July 25, 2008

Sesame Chicken with Roasted Vegetables

IMG_1745

Sesame chicken is one of my favorite things to make for dinner.  I originally got the idea for the sesame coating from an episode of 30 Minute Meals, but I have changed and tweaked and refined the recipe so much that I think I can safely call it mine.  I do not like most breading, especially on meats, and this is a great alternative.  It adds pizzazz and crunch and a good dose of filling healthy fat to the chicken.

But first, the roasted zucchini and red pepper.  I just cut the veggies into chunks, drizzled them with olive oil, sprinkled them with some salt, and roasted them at 425 degrees for a little over half an hour.  The best part of roasting vegetables is squeezing some lemon juice over them at the end.  The sizzle it makes in the hot pan is amazing!

IMG_1735

While the veggies were roasting, I made the chicken.  First, get a big plate and cover it generously with roasted sesame seeds.  And I do mean generously.  I always use the kind that come in giant containers in the Asian section of the grocery store.  They have more flavor and are MUCH cheaper than the kind in the regular spice aisle.  I season the mixture with salt, garlic powder and whatever spices I have on hand.  Ginger and Chinese five-spice are both good, but today I used a pinch of curry powder.

 

IMG_1737 

Next, you take chicken tenders, pat them dry, and…get ready…press them in the seeds.  That’s it.  They stick without any messy egg wash or anything.  Just give them a firm press on each side and, if necessary, a quick roll to get any spots that you missed.  The seeds will stick.

IMG_1739

Look!  Camouflage!

IMG_1738 

Next, gently place them in a lightly oiled pan on medium heat.  Do not touch until they are ready to be flipped.  Pretty much the only way that you can screw this up is to keep pushing them around while they cook.  If you do that, the seeds will all fall off.  So just sit tight while they cook.  They shouldn’t need more than three minutes or so per side.  When they are ready to flip, just gently turn them over with tongs.

IMG_1742 

In just a few minutes, you have beautiful sesame coated chicken.  I make this just for myself all the time, but it’s also a great dish to make for company because it is unique, but made of things that everyone likes.

IMG_1744

Responses

  1. that looks fabulous. thank you for the very clear instructions, will definitely be trying these!

  2. I am definitely trying this meal soon! I also don’t really like traditional “breaded” chicken but I do like things with a crunch so this seems like a great alternative.

    I ADORE roasted veggies—they are like my favorite food ever. I’ve never thought of drizzling them with lemon juice though, what a great idea! I bet it would be fantastic on roasted asparagus or broccoli. I can’t wait to give it a try.

    Thanks for all your great meal ideas–I feel like we have such similar tastes, and every day I read your blog I write down new ideas to try, so thanks again : )

  3. Sarah–I’m so glad that you’re getting ideas from this blog! Thanks so much for telling me…you just made my day.

  4. Wow. Roasted veggies are amongst my favorite things in life and yours look to-DIE-for. Hil, you totally epitomize “French Women Don’t Get Fat.” Every time I read your blof, I think of that book.

    Silly question for you- I do know all of your meals are incredibly healthful, but I also notice that they aren’t terribly voluminous. Do you stay satisfied after a meal of a couple of chicken tenders and veggies (don’t take this offensively, I just feel like I could eat 4x that and still be hungry! I am impressed by your willpower!).

  5. Anna–I love “French Women Don’t Get Fat,” so I take that as a very high compliment. Thank you!

    I know that my dinners are quite light. I find that I much prefer to eat the bulk of my calories during the day while I am doing things and need fuel. Days when I eat particularly light dinners very often correspond to days where I had more or bigger afternoon snacks. I find my dinners perfectly satisfying as long as I’ve eaten enough during the day.

    As for volume, I almost always have seconds on veggies and I very often have fruit for dessert after I’ve already blogged my meal. During winter, I often supplement my dinner with a low-calorie vegetable soup. All those things add volume. But I think that volume is sometimes overemphasized. What I ultimately want is for my meals to be satisfying. Volume is part of that, but if I have flavor, balanced nutrients, and sufficient total calories, then my dinners don’t necessarily have to be huge for me to feel satisfied.

  6. […] Sesame Chicken with Roasted Vegetables […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

