Posted by: Hil | July 26, 2008

Experimental blueberry muffins

IMG_1770

I was in a baking mood today, so I decided to whip up some muffins.  It is one of my major culinary goals to find a muffin recipe that I feel okay about putting into my body on a regular basis and not just on special occasions.  I know that muffins like this exist because I have purchased them at natural foods co-ops and good bakeries.  I have personally consumed muffins that taste delicious without giving you a massive sugar rush.  But I have yet to find a recipe for such a muffin.  Today, I was in the mood to take up the quest once more, so I browsed around the web and looked in my various cookbooks.  Finding nothing useful, I combined a few of the recipes…generally a bad idea!

IMG_1774

The texture of the muffins could have been better, but I think this is probably due to a series of mistakes I made in the baking process.  I accidentally added too much flour, then overworked the batter trying to get the dry ingredients to incorporate, then realized my mistake and added extra milk to compensate.  I’m holding off final judgment until I can make these properly!  Regardless, they were reasonably tasty and a definite step in the right direction.

IMG_1775

Experimental Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins

1 cup rolled oats
1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup yogurt
1 egg
1/4 cup canola oil
1 cup blueberries, rinsed and drained

1.  Combine the oats, flour, sugar baking powder and salt.

2.  Add the egg, vanilla, milk, yogurt and oil.  Stir gently, just until the batter is moistened.

3.  Fold in the blueberries.

4.  Spoon the batter into muffin cups.  There should be enough for 12 muffins.  Then bake them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes and enjoy!

Responses

  1. I too am slightly obsessed with perfecting a healthy muffin recipe. I don’t really like blueberries though (don’t hate me), so my experiments usually involve pumpkin, oats, chocolate chips, etc. Usually they end up a bit scone like though.

    – Heather


Leave a Reply

Categories

