Posted by: Hil | July 28, 2008

Food Funk

IMG_1799 

The following is a case study in the merits of meal-planning and a well-stocked fridge.  When I got home from an afternoon shopping trip, the husband had made a batch of gorgeous whole wheat cinnamon rolls.  They were even better than last time.  He let the dough rise longer, rolled it out thinner, reduced the brown sugar in the filling (to about 3/4 cup loosely packed) and added finely chopped walnuts.  Oh my goodness.  It was heaven.  I could have eaten five of them, but I restrained myself to eating one along with some fruit.

After that, I didn’t have much room for dinner, and I didn’t have many ingredients.  I was tempted to make my dinner solely cinnamon rolls, but I rallied and made myself a pretty salad with spinach, farmers market tomatos and fried eggs with a nice balsamic vinaigrette.  Light, but with plenty of veggies and protein to balance out the cinnamon roll I’d just eaten.  It was beautiful.  I sat down with my salad and cut into the yolks.  I had cooked them perfectly and the yolk spilled out over the salad, thick and good.

IMG_1800

And then I dropped my plate. 

All of my salad fell onto the carpet.  My salad was ruined and my carpet was now covered with egg yolk, tomato juice and balsamic dressing.  The husband, being generally wonderful, immediately volunteered to clean it up for me.  I appreciated this gesture, but I then proceeded to sulk for the next few hours.  I only had one egg left, I wasn’t that hungry after the cinnamon roll, and seeing my beautiful salad on the floor pretty much killed my appetite.  After much sulking, I eventually got hungry and motivated enough to make myself a less pretty version of the same salad with my sole remaining egg.

IMG_1801

Egg yolk is still the world’s best adornment to spinach, with the possible exception of bacon.

IMG_1802

One egg wasn’t really enough for dinner, so rather than cooking myself soup or something else healthy, I went for a second cinnamon roll.  The cinnamon roll was delicious and definitely not the end of the world.  But better planning, shopping, and coordination are in order for next time.

Responses

  1. What a sad story! I am so sorry about your carpet/dinner. However, I cannot wait to try that salad.

  2. oh no! sorry about the salad–i hate when things like that happen, it puts me in a bad mood for the rest of the day too! At least you got a yummy cinnamon roll and have an amazing husband. If that happened to me, my family would laugh in my face while I cleaned up by myself.

  3. Oh no! I’m so sorry about the spill – I hate it when that happens, so I understand the resulting “funk” but I’m glad the husband was so understanding 🙂

    I really need to make those cinnamon rolls…

  4. Well, those cinnamon rolls look spectacular, so eating two seems ok to me. I agree with you on planning meals though, it usually makes it much easier to not snack if you know what meal is next.

    By the way, I am a newish reader, and I really like your blog.

    – Heather

  5. Hey Hil,

    Did your husband make the cinnamon rolls from scratch? They look amazing!

  6. Ah, just found the link! Wow, how lucky you are to have your own personal cinnamon roll baker! I may have to try those – maybe for a Christmas breakfast treat! Yummm…

  7. […] In later permutations, we reduced the sugar in the filling to 3/4 cup loosely packed and added a couple handfuls of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

