Posted by: Hil | July 30, 2008

Roast Chicken

IMG_1873

Dinner tonight was roast chicken, roasted cauliflower, and parsley salad.  Roast chicken needs no explanation…it is the epitome of simple, delicious cooking.  If you don’t like cauliflower, you really have to try it roasted.  It brings out a whole new dimension to the vegetable.  The salad was based on a recipe from Good Eats, adjusted slightly based on what I had on hand.  It was just Italian parsley leaves and toasted sesame seeds dressed with a mixture of sesame oil, lemon juice, agave nectar, cayenne pepper and salt.  It was really good!  I was worried that the parsley flavor would be overpowering, but it worked really well.

For dessert, I had a bit of farmer’s market granola with fresh blueberries.

IMG_1870

Responses

  1. I agree, it doesn’t get any better or more simple than a roast chicken. Wish I had time to make one of those this weekend!

    http://whatiateyesterday.wordpress.com/

  2. mmm roasted veggies are my FAVORITE! Roasted broccoli is really good too!

  3. C–why not just roast quarters rather than a whole chicken? The cook time is a bit faster and it’s a lot easier.

    Sarah–I agree. Roasting makes everything delicious. I love pretty much anything roasted, but there are some veggies that I just don’t like that well raw or steamed, but that I will DEVOUR if they’ve been roasted. I don’t think I’ve tried broccoli, actually. I’ll definitely have to try that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

