Posted by: Hil | August 1, 2008

Last Day of Work!

IMG_1898

Today was the last day of my summer internship.  Hallelujah!  I woke up late and didn’t have time for anything more time consuming than a bowl of the husband’s cheerios with low fat milk, blackberries, and a couple banana slices.  I almost never eat cold cereal for breakfast, so this just goes to show how much of a hurry I was in!  I grabbed a triple espresso with half and half on my way in the office.

IMG_1902

I had absolutely no time to pack a lunch today, so I turned to Starbucks for snacks.  I have such a love-hate relationship with Starbucks.  They have great coffee, but are also responsible for convincing people that all those horrible sugary concoctions qualify as coffee.  Their entire pastry case (low fat options included) is full of incredibly caloric bad-for-you stuff.  And yet the little refrigerated section below the pastry case has some surprisingly good options, all clearly labeled with nutrition information.  The prices they charge for those things are ridiculous, but they are very tasty and today I was desperate.  I got a cup of fruit salad with mango, kiwi and strawberries…

IMG_1904

…and a surprisingly fresh veggie tray with “pesto dip,” which was really just a basil flavored, low-fat buttermilk-based dressing.

IMG_1906

I had a farewell lunch at my favorite upscale pizza place near work.  I had a great chopped salad.  It has al kinds of good things in it:  radicchio, arugula, iceberg lettuce, garbanzo beans, fresh mozzarella, kalamata olives, capers, red onion, and a sprinkle of pepperoni on top.

IMG_1911 

I had to work late to finish all of my projects, so I munched a small packet of cashews late in the afternoon.  I also had a mug of Triple Leaf ginger tea.  I love this tea…it’s just straight ginger root, and it makes the spiciest, most comforting mug you can imagine.

IMG_1913

Now I am DONE with work.  It was a great experience, but this is still cause for celebration!

Leave a Reply

Categories

