Posted by: Hil | August 1, 2008

Pita Pocket Dinner

IMG_1922

In keeping with our “clean out the fridge before vacation” theme, tonight’s dinner was toasted whole wheat pita stuffed with spinach, some crumbled sheep cheese and a scrambled egg.  It was savory and hearty and tasty, although it would have been even better with some tomato or roasted red pepper.  The husband, who was dining on leftover spaghetti, had to help me finish.  He made me pick out the sheep cheese.  😛  Culinary blasphemy, I say!  I did it, but I refuse to allow any of my precious farmers market sheep cheese to go to waste, so I happily consumed it myself.  To go with our “clean out the fridge” entrees, I roasted some farmers market green beans with olive oil and garlic slices at 450 for ten minutes.  The garlic flavor really permeated throughout with the oven-cooking.  I think that there are few finger foods superior to a well-flavored dish of green beans.  You get olive oil all over your fingers, but that’s part of the fun.  Grab a napkin and dig in!

IMG_1927

Responses

  1. I will have to keep an eye out for sheeps milk cheese, I can’t say that I have ever had it.

    http://whatiateyesterday.wordpress.com/

  2. I love to eat eggs for dinner… Breakfast for me is usually more sweet foods than savory so I have been known to make egg salad, or egg white omlets for dinner… Looks great

  3. C–many types of feta are made from sheeps milk cheese, so you probably have tried it. I’m sorry I can’t be more specific with the variety here. I all know is that it was a semi-soft unbrined sheeps milk cheese. I think that sheeps milk cheeses tend to be a bit milder in flavor than goats milk cheeses, so they are a nice change sometimes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

