Posted by: Hil | August 5, 2008

Anniversary

IMG_2010  

Yesterday was my first anniversary.  The husband and I had an amazing time walking trails and exploring the city.  And the food was phenomenal all day long.  Since I am an early riser, I decided to make the husband breakfast:  French toast with butter and cinnamon.  I also made him a mug of hot lemonade, since he doesn’t drink coffee or tea.

For lunch, we went to a great local place called Pomegranate.  It’s hidden in a strip mall and doesn’t look like much on the outside, but when you walk through the doors, you find yourself in a casual, modern, inventive bistro with absolutely delicious food.

IMG_2015 

Pomegranate is famous for their firebread.  I never even look at the other sections of the menu.

IMG_2021

While I was waiting for my lunch, I ordered a lemon verbena margarita.  I’m not typically one for sweet drinks, but I made exceptions for particularly interesting sounding ones at great restaurants.  It was delicious…full of herbs and citrus and not too sweet.

IMG_2019 

My lunch was a firebread sandwich stuffed with roasted egg plant, arugula, fontina shavings and sun dried tomato and garlic spread.  It was delicious.  It was surprisingly filling considering that the stuffing was almost exclusively veggies.  I ate half and hoarded the rest for later.

IMG_2023

The husband ordered a firebread topped with prosciutto, arugula, pecorino cheese and truffle oil.  It was absolutely delicious.  Clean and fresh and perfect.  I demanded a bite.  Upon tasting it, I demanded a second bite. 

IMG_2024

The husband was very happy.

IMG_2025 

For dessert, the husband acquired another order of firebread brushed with oil and sprinkled with a bit of cheese.  I just had a tiny taste, given that I was bizarrely full and still working on my yummy margarita.  The husband was perfectly happy to demolish the rest.

IMG_2027    

Dinner was McCormick and Schmick’s.  Seattle is a great place to eat at McCormick because they catch so much fish there and there are lots of fresh options to choose from.  Fresh fish may be my very favorite food in the world.  McCormick prints out menus twice daily, changing their offerings based on what is fresh.  The husband got them to print out a special menu just for us.  I was so touched.  🙂

 IMG_2046

I started with a spinach salad topped with red onion and fennel shavings in a dijon-basil dressing.

IMG_2048  

For my main course, I ordered halibut cheeks with artichokes, mushrooms and bacon cooked with sherry and basil.  It was meaty and rich and flavorful without being heavy.  I’d never tasted anything like it before, and I was a very happy customer.  It came with some fresh green beans and carrots and a side of perfectly cooked wild rice (my favorite grain).

IMG_2051 

To go with, I had a glass of pinot noir.

IMG_2049

The husband enjoyed a cup of seafood chowder.

IMG_2050

And salmon with garlic compound butter and a side of herbed potatoes.  (I had bites of everything on his plate.)

IMG_2052 

And for dessert, we were offered a flourless chocolate cake on the house.  I had a couple bites, which were very good, but I knew what my real dessert for the evening would be.

IMG_2055 

I was overcome this morning with a nostalgic desire for chocolate covered strawberries.  We served them as a cake garnish at our wedding and they are one of my favorite things.  So after dinner, we stopped by a nearby chocolate shop and I acquired a white and dark chocolate covered strawberry to end my meal.

IMG_2057 

We got back to our hotel just in time to watch the sun set over the city.  It was a wonderful day.

IMG_2061

Responses

  1. Happy Anniversary!!

    I always “demand bites” too 🙂

  2. Aww what fabulous food! Happy anniversary!

  3. sounds like a beautiful day – happy anniversary! the special menu is SO sweet, the food looks divine 🙂

  4. happy anniversary! what a lovely day and sunset!!!

  5. What a beautiful day! It’s so wonderful that the husband got the people at M&S to make a special menu for you! The halibut cheeks look amazing, I will have to look for those next time I go!

    And I am totally with you on the tuxedo strawberry. That is the best dessert in the world!

    Happy anniversary!


Leave a Reply

Categories

