Posted by: Hil | August 7, 2008

Isn’t it Ironic

…that I eat the best Italian meal of my life on the day when I don’t have my camera with me?  All I can share is this shot of some of my leftovers, and I hope that it gets my point across.

IMG_2099

Yeah.  This would be some of my leftover seafood risotto with saffron cream sauce.  It was brought out to me in a huge, steaming, fragrant pile, brimming over with shrimp, scallops, and assorted vegetables.  The scallops were sweet and succulent, the shrimp was meaty and flavorful, and the veggies were fresh and perfectly cooked.  I have never tasted anything like it.

I have tons of leftovers because I’d already filled up on the equally fantastic appetizers.  The first appetizer was grilled eggplant, rolled up with prosciutto and fontina cheese, topped with marinara sauce and mozzarella.  The second was a cold calamari dish that reminded me of ceviche.  The calamari was marinated in lemon juice, olive oil, garlic and parsley and served cold.  It was simple, yet so strongly flavored.  I often find the texture of calamari overly tough, but this was perfect.

After our meal, the owner came out to chat with us and ask how we liked everything.  And he offered us a big piece of tiramisu for the table, on the house.  I was already stuffed, so I just tasted one bite.  Like everything else we had that night, it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

Categories

