Posted by: Hil | August 9, 2008

Flying Lessons, Take Two

IMG_2121  

Let’s try this again, shall we?  I fared MUCH better with airport food this time around.  It helped that our flight was mostly on time, but I was also more prepared.  I’m generally in the habit of packing exactly as many snacks as I think I will need.  After my experiences this week, I’ve decided that occasions like air travel where schedules can change at a moment’s notice should be handled differently:  packing more healthy food than you think you will need is advisable.  Today, things went pretty smoothly.  We got to the airport with plenty of time to spare.  For an afternoon snack, the husband wanted one last round of fish and chips.   (There is an Ivar’s right in the Seattle airport, with prices the same as at non-airport Ivar’s.)  Much as I love a good order of fish and chips, I really wasn’t in the mood for any more fried food.  Instead, I broke into the ksar pistachios that I hoarded from my Google visit.  They were really good…a good balance between crunchy and chewy, salty and sweet.  I really liked the spices, which made the mix much more interesting and kept me from inhaling all of it at once.

IMG_2127 

I knew that I was going to be on the plane during dinner time, so I packed myself a sack dinner: a whole wheat wrap (filled with salmon, tapenade, parsley, and laughing cow light), a peach, and a bag of baby carrots.  I asked for seltzer water when the drink cart came around.

IMG_2130

To me, nothing completes a sack dinner better than a little bit of chocolate.  I picked up a bar of dark chocolate with hazelnuts at the German market a few days ago, so I broke off a small piece and wrapped it in foil for my dessert.

IMG_2123

Fuzzy picture, but yummy chocolate.

IMG_2124

I often feel oddly unsatisfied after cold sack dinners, but I was perfectly content after that meal.  I did eventually end up breaking into my wasabi edamame as an evening snack after I got home.  These were yummy!  The wasabi made me sneeze, but they were crunchy and filling and good.  I love spicy snacks, because I find it easier to enjoy them slowly rather than wolfing them down.  I’m going to try to find this snack (or something similar) the next time I’m at the grocery store.  I think it would be a great addition to the “emergency snack” rotation.

IMG_2120

The German food that the husband’s family fed me all week was tasty but it felt like such a relief to my body to be eating my own kind of food again.  Even though I put together my sack lunch with only ingredients I found in my in-laws’ fridge, the meal was very Hil-like.  I’m going to be out of town next weekend, too (last time before school starts), so I think that a few days of eating clean, familiar food are in order:  less dairy, red meat, starch, sweets and alcohol.  And I’m really looking forward to getting back to a normal blogging routine.  This has become such a comforting routine for me, and I really missed it on vacation.  I did manage to get in several posts, but they were usually dashed off quickly and I definitely didn’t get the chance to keep up with reading other blogs as much as I normally do.  It feels good to be home.

Responses

  1. Oh wow, those ksar pistachios look even better out of the bag! I’m glad you liked them – I’m going to have to look for them next time I’m at the store.

    Glad to have you back, Hil 🙂

  2. Arriving home always feels so relieving, even after great trips.

    I always find I try to do the whole overpacking on snacks things just in case, but everything looks so good that I end up eating most of them even if I don’t need them. Oops. haha.

    I’ve seen that wasabi edamame before and have been tempted to buy but just haven’t yet. Now maybe I will.

  3. being prepared at the airport is CLUTCH and it looks like you did a great job! i never thought of actually packing a meal before, i used to just pack loads of snacks. i finally figure out i need to pack meals at the airport, and its made flying so much more pleasant! hope you have a nice sunday!

  4. Dark chocolate with hazelnuts?!?!?! How divine!!

    It always feels good to be home-sweet-home 🙂

  5. I understand totally. German and swiss food can be very heavy and it seems very meat and heavy carbs centered so one feels bloated after. Good to be home eating lighter foods when one desires.


Leave a Reply

Categories

