Posted by: Hil | August 10, 2008

Home Sweet Home

IMG_2132

Thus far, it has been a day of comforting, healthy eating and my body is very pleased.  I started out the day with hot cereal:  a mix of rolled oats and bulgar wheat cooked with peach slices, raspberries and a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar.  It was perfect post-vacation comfort food.  Much as I love coffee, it was definitely time to ease up on the caffeine and cream, so I had a cup of green tea instead.

IMG_2133 

Yum.

IMG_2136

Sunday lunch is always a fun meal out for the husband and me.  We decided to opt for a new Thai restaurant instead of our normal Indian food.  I ordered Tom Yum soup with shrimp and mushrooms.  The broth was spicy and sour and tasted wonderfully of lemongrass, and the mushrooms and shrimp were cooked perfectly.  I only had two complaints: there was too much broth in the soup and there wasn’t anything in the broth but mushrooms and shrimp.  Don’t get me wrong, the shrimp and mushrooms were great, but the soup would have seemed more complete with another veggie or something in it.  Bok choy maybe?  Soup is so cheap to make at home that I tend to have very high standards for expensive restaurant soup.  Still, the soup was very filling and I left the table quite satisfied.

IMG_2138

The husband had noodles with beef, egg and chinese broccoli in some kind of tasty sauce.  His dish was delicious and I stole a few bites.

IMG_2137

I was delighted to discover that this restaurant actually had fruit dessert options!  The fried banana looked absolutely amazing, but my body was really more in the mood for something fresh, so I ordered lychee.  The fruit came in a giant cocktail glass in a bowl of ice and it’s own juice.  It was a very refreshing end to the meal.

IMG_2140

After lunch, the husband and I had a productive afternoon of grocery shopping.  Veggies were oddly expensive, so I need to check out some other stores, but we stocked up on some essentials like fruit, nonfat yogurt and eggs.  When I got home, I broke into a snack: a juicy orange…

IMG_2145

…and a pair of light rye crackers with natural peanut butter and dried cranberries.  

IMG_2147

It’s so good to be home!

Responses

  1. Welcome home!! 🙂

    Oooh, such a delectable-looking hot breakfast – yum!

  2. aw I love lychee!! yes, asian soups are always improved with a little bok choy! it’s one of my favorite vegetables for broth-y soups. At least everything else tasted good! Sorry your veggies were expensive… I’ve had to travel and hunt and experiment to figure out the best places to shop! It definitely takes time to find the best deals.

    Have a great night!

  3. Sounds like a perfect Sunday after vacation (minus expensive veggies). I’ve never seen lychee – thanks for the introduction. I find fried bananas are better in theory than in practice. Good choice!

    Have a good Sun. night. 🙂
    Heather

  4. welcome back! i am so jealous, i adore lychees.

  5. […] I ate a quick bowl of bulgar and oats with peach slices and cinnamon sugar.  (You’re seen that before.)   We gave Jersey Girl a quick tour of campus, then I ran off to class while the husband […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

