Posted by: Hil | August 11, 2008

Milestones

Two significant milestones passed for this little blog while I was away on vacation: the 100th post and the 10,000th hit.  I want to thank everyone who takes the time to visit and read.  I’m excited and humbled by all of the support I have received.  So thank you, from the bottom of my heart.  As a small celebration, I thought I would round up a few posts.  These are a mix of my personal favorites and the posts that have generated the most traffic.

 

Now, on to today’s food…

IMG_2158

I loved my breakfast concoction yesterday so much that I decided to repeat it:  rolled oats and bulgar with peaches, raspberries and cinnamon sugar.  I may have a new breakfast addiction–this is so good!

I have a total of three days of free time at home this summer in between a visit to my college roommate and the start of the the new school year, so I’m taking this opportunity to clean out my apartment.  I’m gradually working my way  through the crazy pile of papers on my desk.  I ended up eating lunch pretty late, so I snacked on roasted wasabi edamame and blueberries to tide me over.  Lunch was definitely worth waiting for.  I found whole wheat orzo at Pike Place Market, which I have been searching everywhere for.  So I decided to make use of it today and concoct a nice salad.  My batch, which contained two main dish servings, contained:

  • 4 oz. orzo (cooked in vegetable broth for extra flavor)
  • a roasted red pepper from a jar, chopped
  • a big handful of spinach, chopped
  • 1 smallish clove of garlic, finely minced
  • Crumbled feta (~ 2 oz?)
  • ~1 tbsp toasted pinenuts
  • The zest and juice of one lemon
  • a drizzle of olive oil
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • a pinch of hot red pepper flakes

 

I just combined all of the ingredients and let them sit at room temperature for awhile before serving.  Salads like this are always the best when they have time for all the flavors to meld together.  I ate my salad with an orange and a bottle of sparkling water.

IMG_2163

For dessert, I had a dark chocolate pastille which I found at Trader Joe’s.  I have very strong opinions about chocolate, which I will save for another post.  These weren’t the best I’d ever had, but they were good, sufficiently dark, and (their key selling point) portion controlled–less than .2 oz per serving.  After finishing it, I decided that I really wanted two, so I went back for another.  I suppose that means that I might as well have broken off a square of my beloved Lindt Excellence 85%, but I can definitely imagine eating one these pastilles as a way to satisfy a chocolate craving when I wasn’t actually that hungry.

 IMG_2170

Now I’m off for a quick trip to the library before coming back and cleaning more.  Wish me luck!

Responses

  1. Congratulations on your blog posts and hits. Personally, I love your blog because it is very serene and calming, if that makes any sense.

    I love orzo in salads and in soups and yours looks great!

  2. Wow, happy 100th post and 10,000th hit!! Fabulous!! I love your blog, so keep it up!! 🙂

  3. Congratulations, Hil! Those are some fantastic milestones – and you deserve all of your success!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

