Posted by: Hil | August 11, 2008

Monday Afternoon

IMG_2174 

I think that this is one of only two Mondays all summer where I am neither working nor away from home…the first was right after finals!  It had a nice mellow afternoon with cleaning and a library trip.  Midway through, I got the craving for an afternoon cup of coffee.  So I brewed myself a nice cup of French roast.  To go with, I had two light rye crackers with peanut butter, banana slices, cocoa powder, cinnamon and agave.

IMG_2172 

Chicken breast was on sale for less than a dollar a pound at the grocery store, so that was a no-brainer for dinner tonight.  I was afraid of either overcooking the meat or undercooking the skin, but I did well.  The husband loves chicken skin, and he gave my roasting high marks.  I can’t eat a whole half-breast, so I just shredded myself a nice portion.  To go with, I made wild rice and spinach with garlic and lemon.  I made the spinach better than I ever have, and I was so sad that I didn’t make more!  Spinach always wilts down much more than I expect; I find it pretty much impossible to make too much sauteed spinach.

IMG_2181

Dessert was an orange.

IMG_2182

Responses

  1. Oooh, the snack that you enjoyed with your French roast looks AMAZING!! Yum.

  2. WOw your snack does look like heaven. But I have to admit, I am even more tempted by your dinner- so beautiful, colorful, nutritious, and filling. What a wonderful wife you are! WHen I do become one, I hope to be half as good at providing healthy and delicious meals for my plus 1!

    PS- What sort of Greek yogurt do you use? It looks so fluffy and delish- too good to be TJ’s, right?

  3. Anna–Thanks. 🙂 I occasionally buy Fage, which is my favorite, but everything in the last few days has been TJ 0% Greek yogurt. I think TJ yogurt is a great value, which I appreciate, being on a student budget! The texture isn’t quite as luxuriously fluffy as the Fage, but it’s still very creamy and nice. I really like TJ Greek yogurt mixed with fresh fruit…the texture of the Fage is almost too perfect to mess with it by adding other things.


Leave a Reply

Categories

