Posted by: Hil | August 12, 2008

I Love Cookbooks

jamie oliver

I love cookbooks.  The husband always laughs at me because I always get distracted in bookstores by pretty cookbook displays…whatever else I was doing, I forget!  Well, yesterday I found a new cookbook at the library, and I think I may be in love.  Given that I haven’t actually tried any of the recipes yet, it’s perhaps a bit early for such declarations.  But the writing style and type of recipes are just my style.  I know my way around a kitchen and I love to cook, but I honestly don’t have the time or money to prepare dishes that involve lots of ingredients or fussy steps.  If a recipe contains more than one or two ingredients that I don’t routinely keep in my pantry/fridge, I tend to move on.  Furthermore, I hate measuring things…the whole fun of cooking is improvising a bit and throwing in whatever you have on hand.  This cookbook seems perfectly tailored to someone like me:  the recipes are flexible, have short ingredients lists, look tasty and elegant, and are surprisingly healthy.  The salad section (which may be worth the price of the book) is just a list of a few basic types of vinaigrette and a series of blurbs describing different types of vegetable and vinaigrette combinations that work well together.  Most have only a few ingredients and they look very doable, but I never would have thought of them myself.

I think this cookbook could be frustrating to some people for the same reasons that I adore it:  there are few exact measurements and the descriptions are frequently general and conceptual rather than specific.  It might not be the best for a beginner or someone who enjoys more specific instructions.  I will report back when I’ve tried a few of the recipes!

Breakfast today was my usual:  half an Ezekiel English muffin toasted with peanut butter, and a bowl of nonfat Greek yogurt and peach slices.  I never get tired of this.

IMG_2184 

Lunch was leftover orzo salad, which tasted even better when the garlic had time to flavor the whole dish…

IMG_2187 

I also had a few handfuls of blueberries.

IMG_2191

That orzo salad was amazingly filling, but mid-afternoon I went for a square of 85% dark chocolate spread with a little peanut butter.  This is one of my favorite treats.  It’s like a Reese’s peanut butter cup, only better:  it’s much, much less sweet and the flavor is so much richer and deeper.  The nuttiness of the natural peanut butter combined with the intense flavor of the extra-dark chocolate is delicious.

 IMG_2193

Responses

  1. Cookbooks are definitely great… but I LOOOOVE Jamie Oliver 😉

    Gorgeous orzo salad, blueberries, and dessert! Yum!

  2. Next time I break out a square of dark chocolate I am definitely smearing it with a bit of PB. You’re a genius Hil! 🙂

  3. i actually really want to develop a way of cooking like you prefer, being more spontaneous and thinking on my feet, because at the moment i am such a measure-everything-exactly kind of cook. i think it stops me from trying out original creations which is a shame! and jamie oliver is very popular in the uk, of course 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

