Posted by: Hil | August 12, 2008

Summer Squash Salad

IMG_2202

This will just be a quick post, because Olympics are beckoning.  After reading the Jaime Oliver cookbook, I was inspired to do something different with my dinner salad.  While this isn’t at all like any of the salads in the cookbook, it’s conceptually similar:  a tasty vegetable prepared very simply.  I lightly cooked some baby summer squash in the microwave, then thinly sliced it and dressed it with lemon, olive oil, fresh thyme, salt and pepper.  For fun, I crumbled a little bit of goat cheese on top.  This was really good.  It would probably have worked even without the goat cheese, but the cheese added extra punch. 

We had leftover shredded chicken to use, so I decided to make sandwiches for dinner.  Mine had a big bunch of wilted spinach, roasted red pepper, chicken, prosciutto, and mustard in half of a whole wheat mini pita.  The salad was far more filling than I anticipated, so after a couple of bites, I ended up just eating the filling out of my sandwich with a fork.  Still delicious.

IMG_2204

Okay, time for Olympics.  Go USA!

Responses

  1. Mmm, goat cheese! 🙂 and squash!

    The cookbook sounds like it’s going to be great, I can’t wait to see the other dishes it inspires!

  2. Such a gorgeous squash dish!!

    Ahh, the Olympics were “interesting” last night, with the US gymnastic team 😦

  3. The goat cheese was a great addition. I can’t get enough of it these days.

    Thanks so much for your comment on my blog, Hil. It means a lot to me and I’m glad you enjoyed reading. I agree that it makes me sad when people are hard on themselves, but it’s nice to know that we have this community to vent our frustrations and get the support we need.


Leave a Reply

Categories

