Posted by: Hil | August 13, 2008

Den Alles Fleisch es ist Wie Gras…

IMG_2208 

Ok.  Breathe.  I have been working on a draft of this post all day.  And then my stupid computer decided to auto-restart and I lost the whole thing.  It was bound to happen sooner or later, but why did it have to happen on a day when I actually ate things worth talking about?!?!?! Grr.  Okay, here is a more abbreviated post.  Breakfast was the usual bulgar/oats with peaches and berries.  Blueberries this time instead of raspberries.  Still yummy.

I had edamame and Kashi crackers for a midmorning snack and found myself feeling sick to my stomach before lunch….I have no idea why.  Although I didn’t really want to eat. I forced myself to eat some nice, easily digestible things:  chicken vegetable soup, applesauce and unsweetened herbal tea.

IMG_2212

Soup is so wonderful when you don’t feel well.

IMG_2213

I had a few long paragraphs devoted to the following item in my old draft, but I am exhausted so this will be short.  You guys know that I am not one for healthy, low-fat, or non-dairy versions of desserts.  I like the “real thing” in small amounts.  But this “ice cream” was better than many real ice creams I’ve had.  It’s made of coconut milk, agave nectar, and chocolate.  That’s it.  Creamy, decadent and delicious.  I love, love, loved this stuff.  It was on sample at the grocery store and I absolutely could not resist bringing some home.

IMG_2216 

Yum.  A small scoop made me very happy.

IMG_2219

Dinner was kale, ak-mak crackerbread with cheese, and black eyed pea cakes.  To make the black eyed pea cakes, coarsely mash a can of black eyed peas with a fork, add chopped roasted red pepper and scallion, a pinch of savory, and salt and pepper.  Next, add a splash of broth and enough whole wheat flour to bind the mixture.  Form it into patties, give it a final dusting with flour, and cook it in a hot skillet with a mixture of butter and oil.  The outside forms a delicious, savory, crust while the inside becomes melty and delicious.  I got this idea from the most unlikely of sources:  Paula Deen.  Yep, the same one who once provided a recipe for deep fried butter balls.  But these were delicious.  I’m always looking for new ways to cook beans for dinner, and I will definitely be doing this again.

IMG_2223

Dessert was blueberries.

IMG_2227 

I’m off to visit a good friend in DC tomorrow.  I have no idea if I will have internet access, but the husband has promised to blog for me over the weekend even if I cannot.  And I should have lots of interesting things to talk about when I get back.  It’s restaurant week in DC, and my friend and I plan to take full advantage of this fact!  I’m also hoping to fit in a trip to Eastern Market at some point.  Food will also be interesting from a day-to-day standpoint.  My friend is currently on an eating plan that involves eating pre-prepared meals, so her fridge is pretty much bare.  She’s the best hostess I know, and I know that she would have found a way to feed me, but I told her not to worry about it and volunteered to cook for myself.  I’m bringing a stash of things to start with (dehydrated soup, protein bars, dried fruit, nuts, and oatmeal), and I’ll make a quick grocery run once I get there to pick up some fresh produce.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  If I can’t find internet, hopefully the husband will take good care of the blog until I get back.

IMG_2229

Responses

  1. i hate it when computers do that!! it must have been so frustrating. your coconut dream ice cream, however, looks insanely good, i want to read out and take some!

  2. Have such a fabulous time in DC. It’s such a fun fabulous city. And do enjoy the food!

    LOVE it when you talk about eating full fat desserts- I couldn’t agree more!

  3. Ahh, technology – gotta love it, gotta hate it. So sorry that all that happened with your post!! 😦 I’ve had that happen before as well.

    Gorgeous breakfast, kale, and blueberries! Yum!


Leave a Reply

Categories

