Posted by: Hil | August 17, 2008

Saturday in D.C.

Hey guys, just checking in with some pretty food pictures and a brief recap of why my Saturday with the roommate was fantastic.  (We haven’t lived together since our freshman year of college, but my friend and I both agree that we will always be roommates, and we often address each other as such!)

Stop 1:  Good Stuff Eatery

This is a great upscale burger joint run by Spike from Top Chef.  As a Top Chef addict, this alone was enough to make me happy.

IMG_2245

The roommate and I split an order of Spike’s rosemary thyme fries.  They were softer than I typically like my fries, but the herb flavor was out of this world.

IMG_2246

My main course was a panko-fried portobello burger with all of the fixings.

IMG_2250

Did I mention that it was a cheese-stuffed panko-fried portobello burger?  Yummy!

IMG_2253 

Stop 2:  Eastern Market

Lots of happy wandering through fields of beautiful produce.

IMG_2254 IMG_2255 IMG_2258

Stop 3:  Dinner out at Bistro Lepic

Since it’s restaurant week here in DC, the roommate and I had to have a girl’s night out at a fancy place.

IMG_2268

First course:  I had a salad with greens, radicchio, smoked trout and grapefruit.  I’ve never had smoked trout before and it was delicious.

IMG_2259

Of course I had to taste all of the roommate’s food, as well.  The roommate had lobster bisque, which was heavenly.  I’ve never tasted a seafood bisque that wasn’t cream based before tonight, but this one was great.

IMG_2260

My main course was by far the best thing either of us ordered all night:  beef medallions with shitaki mushroom sauce and a scoop of creamy polenta.  This was heavenly:  rich, intense meaty flavors from the beef and mushrooms, creamy polenta, and the perfect portion size.  This was the first beef dish I’ve ever ordered in a restaurant where I didn’t end up with lots of extra food.

IMG_2261

The roommate ordered chicken with curry sauce and saffron rice.  This was very good.  The flavors were mild, but well-balanced and the texture of the chicken was great.

IMG_2262 

For dessert, we both had lavender creme brulee. 

IMG_2265

As you may be able to tell, I’m having a fantastic time here.

Responses

  1. Spike!!! Love him. I too am a Top Chef addict, haha 🙂

    Oooh, gorgeous farmer’s market produce!!

    Enjoy the rest of your time in D.C.!!

  2. Lots of good eats in DC! That “burger” looks amazing!

  3. did the portobello burger have burger in it, or just portobello?

  4. Another blogger just went to Spike’s restaurant, but I can’t recall who right now. Glad you’re having a good time! All the fresh produce looks great.

  5. That portobella burger looks so good!

  6. blueberry mamamia–The burger was two small portobello halves with cheese layered in the middle. The whole thing was then panko breaded and fried. So when you bit into it, you got a big bite of mushroom with cheese oozing out of the middle.


Leave a Reply

Categories

