Posted by: Hil | August 19, 2008

Home Again

IMG_2288

It felt to great to be home again.  This morning I rolled out of bed too lazy to take out my camera and enjoyed a satisfying breakfast of two fried eggs on a warm whole wheat mini pita with a glass of tomato juice.  By lunch, I worked up the motivation to take out my camera.  I found the fridge somewhat bare, but I still managed to scrounge up a nice lunch:  a cup of tortilla soup, string cheese, celery sticks, Kashi crackers and dried chili mango chunks.  This was a very filling and well-rounded meal that held me for a good five hours before I could even think about food again.  And I liked the combination of colors on my plate.

IMG_2284

Dinner was whole wheat orzo with shrimp, asparagus, sun dried tomato and parmesan.  This was such a ridiculously easy dinner.  I just threw in the frozen shrimp and asparagus during the last few minutes of the pasta cook time, then drained it and added some parmesan, sun-dried tomato, S & P, hot red pepper flakes, and a splash of the oil from the sun-dried tomato jar.  Yummy.

IMG_2290

To go with, I had a bit of apple sauce.

IMG_2289

Normally, a bit of fruit satisfies any sweet cravings that I may have at dinner time, but tonight I really wanted chocolate.  So I broke out the chocolate coconut ice cream and had a small (~1/4 cup) scoop.

IMG_2296 

Tomorrow is my first day of school.  Obviously, school will completely change my schedule and will probably change my eating habits quite a bit, too.  The next couple of weeks will probably be time to take stock and experiment a bit to figure out what will work for my new routine.  We’ll see how things go!

Responses

  1. Nothing beats good ol’ home-sweet-home 🙂

    Best of luck with school!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

