Posted by: Hil | August 22, 2008

Happy Friday

IMG_2323 

I’ve been craving eggs lately, and I have no idea why.  But for some reason, I’ve been extremely desirous of their creamy, savory goodness.  So today, I had a fried egg over a bed of wilted spinach with half an English muffin with a smear of butter for breakfast.  One great thing about eggs is that they motivate me to eat vegetables at in the morning.  I’m sorry, but there is no way that I am going to eat a pile of vegetables with my oatmeal.  This breakfast was very tasty, but pretty light, so I later filled it in with some coffee with cream and a cup of applesauce. 

IMG_2333

Lunch was split pea soup, the other half of my English muffin spread with pesto, and some bell pepper sticks.

IMG_2328

And some chunks of dried chili mango for dessert.

IMG_2326

The husband volunteered to make dinner tonight.  I was impatient, so I ate half of a warm, whole wheat mini pita while dinner was cooking.

IMG_2329

Dinner was worth waiting for:  meatloaf over a bed of steamed spinach.  I never used to like meatloaf when I was a kid, but I’ve grown quite fond of it.  We always make it with tomato paste instead of ketchup, which really boosts the flavor of the dish.

IMG_2337 

I’m all out of fruit (Costco trip planned for tomorrow!), so I went with another cup of applesauce for dessert.

Happy Friday, everyone!

Responses

  1. I used to eat cinnamon-sprinkled applesauce ALL the time when I was little – brings back nostalgia!!

    Dried chili mango?!?!?! I REALLY need to find some of that…

    Enjoy your saturday!!

  2. the soup and pesto/muffin lunch looks particularly delicious! i am really into split pea soup now that i’ve made my own. yum. apple & cinnamon = best match.


Leave a Reply

Categories

