Posted by: Hil | August 23, 2008

Orzo Frittata

IMG_2364

Dinner tonight was an oven-baked frittata with whole wheat orzo, roasted peppers, scallions, goat cheese, parmesan, and rosemary.  Whole wheat spaghetti frittatas are a staple meal around here:  whole grains, protein and (if you want) vegetables all in one dish.  And they taste delicious: chewy and savory and filling.  Today, after seeing something similar on an episode of Everyday Italian, I decided to experiment and try an orzo frittata instead.  The flavors were fantastic, but the orzo all sank to the bottom.  I would definitely save the pasta for a thinner, pan-cooked frittata next time.  The oven-cooking produced a very light, fluffy frittata, which I think would have been better without the pasta.  Pan-cooked frittatas are generally denser and creamier, which works well with the heartiness of whole wheat pasta.  To go with the frittata, I had a simple salad of baby spinach dressed with olive oil and balsamic.  I also had a handful of sweet grape tomatoes, which I didn’t photograph.

The husband and I made a Costco trip today.  One of the many things I love about Costco is their wine section.  The selection is relatively small, but the values are incredible.  They have delicious wines for very reasonable prices.  Today, we picked up a nice Riesling which was a great compliment to our frittata dinner.

IMG_2365

Responses

  1. Thanks for the honest review of the pasta with the oven-baked frittata. It definitely looks delicious though – great ingredients, and I love the way eggs fluff up like that when baked!

  2. When I make frittatas I cook them slightly on the stove top and then put the whole thing under the broiler. What is this stove-top only method that is creamy you speak of? I’m intrigued, as I love creamy things!

  3. Ahh, too bad about the orzo sinking to the bottom 😦 At least it stilled good!! 🙂

  4. Kath–I think we’re talking about the same thing, although there are different ways to finish a stove top frittata. Broiler is one way. You can also flip it, which I often do with spaghetti frittatas and anything else where I’m not aiming for a crispy, golden cheese layer on top. In my experience, my eggs have more of a creamy consistency if I cook them very slowly over low heat. Adding a creamy cheese like goat cheese also helps. If you like your eggs creamy, omelets might be a better option than frittatas. Omelets are only cooked on one side, so it’s much easier to ensure that the center stays nice and soft and creamy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

