Posted by: Hil | August 23, 2008

Slowdown Saturday

IMG_2342

Law school can be a pretty exhausting endeavor.  It’s a lot of hard work, you’re constantly competing against other people, and you never reach a point where you can honestly say, “There is nothing left for me to do:  I can relax.”  There is always something more you could be doing:  another outline to write, another set of notes to refine, another passage to reread.  And, trust me, you can go crazy thinking about law 24/7.  Since rest times don’t just automatically happen, I’ve had to make a concerted effort to carve out times in my schedule where schoolwork is off-limits.  Saturdays are a no schoolwork day for me, except in the absolute busiest times of year.  It’s my day to relax, spend time with the husband and catch up on all of my cleaning and grocery shopping.  Saturdays keep me sane.  As always, this morning I made my mile and a half walk to Starbucks and unwound with a nonfat latte and a copy of the New York Times.  For breakfast, I acquired a cup of fruit salad…

IMG_2340

…which I supplemented with a peanut buttered English muffin half from home.  Peanut butter on whole grain bread is one of the world’s best food combinations.

IMG_2339

Lunch was a soup and salad combo.  The salad was an old classic:  baby spinach with goat cheese, toasted pecans, evoo and balsamic vinegar.

IMG_2344 

Soup was a Pacific Natural Foods curried red lentil soup.  I love making my own soup, but it really makes me very happy to experiment with boxed and canned varieties, too.  They make such a quick, satisfying lunch.  This soup was a bit on the sweet side and the lentil flavor didn’t carry through as much as I was hoping, but the texture was wonderfully creamy and it had just the right amount of spice. 

IMG_2348

To go with, I had a mug of green tea.  Whenever I am in a food funk and get that bored, not-hungry-yet-not-satisfied feeling, I find that it helps to drink lots of water and tea.  It keeps my mouth busy, and tea is an easy way to give your palate more flavors to think about.

IMG_2351

For an afternoon snack, I had Ak-Mak crackers with peanut butter.  Two were sprinkled with raisins and one was sprinkled with dried cranberries.

IMG_2356 

And, a bit later, a clementine.  I love these things.  They are so cute and juicy and flavorful.  A perfect tide-me-over snack.

IMG_2358

Dinner is currently in the oven.  This is a new variation on an old favorite for me, but I think it’s going to be interesting enough to merit its own post.  So I will leave you here for now, and I will be back soon with a (hopefully) fun and tasty dinner option.

Responses

  1. Kudos to you for making Saturday a “no schoolwork day” – I hope it helps ease the stress from classes!

    Mmm, love your afternoon snack!! Reminds me of the snack I’d enjoy, with Wasa crackers, almond-butter, and apple slices 🙂

  2. as a law student myself i could not agree MORE with feeling like there is always SOMETHING you COULD be doing!! it is the worst! but i love your “no school day”. i start classes on monday (my last year!) and may just have to make sundays my “no school day” my schedule is crazy this semester… 9 am to 9 pm two days a week which means lots of packed meals. just out of curiosity, what are your favorite healthy, make-ahead, easy to transport meals? i don’t always have access to a fridge, but do have a microwave! thanks in advance for any ideas!! also, where do you go to law school if you don’t mind me asking?

  3. haha is that fruit salad from SBUCKS?! I think I’ve gotten the same one many times!! Overpriced, but very tasty!

  4. glidingcalm–yep. Definitely overpriced, but quite tasty. I let myself indulge a bit at my Saturday morning coffee/breakfast.

    mags–For lunches, I like to make a batch of nice, hearty, vegetable heavy dish that I know will keep for awhile and (preferrably) taste good at room temperature. Bean or whole grain salads are my favorites. If you have access to a microwave, soups, stir-fries and curries are also good options. If you browse through my blog, you should find a variety of recipes and ideas. Here are a couple of my favorites:

    https://blueberryhil.wordpress.com/2008/07/03/black-bean-and-corn-salad/

    https://blueberryhil.wordpress.com/2008/07/14/chickpea-and-vegetable-curry/

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/everyday-italian/italian-lentil-salad-recipe/index.html

    To go with it, I usually bring fruit, veggie sticks and whole grain crackers with low fat cheese or peanut butter. Nuts and dried fruit are my go-to items for mid-afternoon snacks. And I always keep a healthy emergency snack in my locker…you never know when you’re going to be stuck at school longer than you were planning.

    I would rather not state on this blog which law school I attend. If you want to chat further about law school related things, feel free to drop me an email.

  5. Well, you seem to be handling the pressures of law school pretty well. Good for you for taking a small amount of time for yourself. I agree about PB and whole grain – the best!


Leave a Reply

Categories

