Posted by: Hil | August 24, 2008

Fish and Loaves

IMG_2370 

Thus far, my day has been full of fish and whole grain bread.  In addition to being delicious and nutritious, the combination is rather biblical, which may be appropriate for a Sunday morning.  (Is it irreverent that since I’ve started food blogging, I’ve become hyper-aware of the constant references to food in the Bible?  Lots of talk about bread, wine, fish and fruit…)  In any case, breakfast today was one of my all time favorite things:  smoked salmon.  I adore smoked salmon, but I rarely buy it because it is so expensive.  But when I was at Costco yesterday, my eyes fell on the package of wild Pacific smoked salmon, and I just couldn’t say no.  I broke into the package with delight this morning and ate a slice straight of the package before I could be bothered to prepare the rest of my breakfast.  When I got around to it, I toasted half an Ezekiel English muffin (a reasonable bagel substitute), spread it with half a wedge of laughing cow light, and topped it with more of the salmon.  I would have used real cream cheese if I’d had it on hand, but the laughing cow made a perfectly reasonable, creamy  substitute.  It didn’t add much to the party as far as flavor goes, but it did a good job providing a neutral, creamy counterpoint to the bread and fish.  Goat cheese would have been far too assertive a taste for this breakfast.  In the end, I got what I wanted:  salty fish, creamy cheese and crunchy, chewy bread.

I often eat spinach with savory breakfasts like these, but today I really just wanted the flavor of the salmon to shine through.  So instead, I had two clementines to round out breakfast.

IMG_2371

At lunch, I had the most bizarre craving for a tuna sandwich on toasted bread.  So that is what I had:  tuna, avocado, tomato and sprouts on toasted multi-grain ciabatta bread.  The sandwich really hit the spot.  Half of the way through the sandwich, I wasn’t quite full, but knew that I couldn’t make it all the way through the rest.  So I pulled a Blueberry Sis and just ate the filling out of the second half.  The bread was decent, but I didn’t feel the need to eat two giant slices of it.  My body (and my tastebuds) were much more interested in the fish and veggies and avocado.

IMG_2373

The sandwich came with a small side salad with champagne vinaigrette.  I am becoming more and more convinced that I hate being served salads with dressing on the side.  It’s impossible to get the dressing properly distributed without a nice bowl to toss the salad in, and they usually give you way too much anyway–I coated my greens quite generously in dressing, and I barely made a dent in that little cup.  When you toss a salad properly, a little bit of dressing goes a long way.

Lunch was lacking only two things:  sufficient vegetables and a dark chocolate finish.  So when I got home, I whipped up a batch of veggie sticks and broke off a piece of dark chocolate with hazelnuts.  Then, all was right with the world.

One lesson of today was this:  when you’re bored with everything you eat, and you find yourself craving something healthy, find some of what you are craving and eat itThis sounds so basic, but I can’t tell you how close I came to leaving the salmon on the shelf and eating a completely uninteresting lunch.  And after eating two honestly satisfying meals, I feel so much better!  I might still get bored over the next few days, but eating something that really hits the spot does wonders for fueling my culinary creativity and motivation.

Responses

  1. I don’t think you realize how much of an inspiration you are. I adore your blog, due, in most part, to insightful posts like this, and/or the one of seasonal eating. Everything is so well thought out and mindful of health balanced with pleasure. I guess, I just want to say thank you. Thank you, thank you, thank you 🙂 Have a wonderful Sunday!

  2. What a great tip. It’s so simple but logical- eat what you crave! so impressed with your intuitive eating, and what delicious meals!

  3. Danielle–Thank you so much. Honestly, it’s an honor to me that anyone reads this blog at all. I’m truly happy and grateful that you’ve found insight and uplift here.

    Anna–Isn’t it funny how simple and logical ideas aren’t necessarily easy to absorb? I’ve made leaps and bounds in the area of intuitive eating over the past year, but it’s definitely something that I still have to think consciously about. But I think that the need to think consciously about my food choices enables me to write about them with more insight than someone to whom eating well comes naturally.

  4. So, this weekend we discussed the difference between regular lox and nova, yet I could not remember the difference, other than that regular was more salty.

    According to my good friends at Wikipedia…

    “Sometimes called regular or belly lox, lox is traditionally made by brining in a solution of water or oil, salt, sugars and spices (the brine). Although the term lox is sometimes applied to smoked salmon, that is a different product”

    “Nova or Nova Scotia salmon, sometimes called Nova lox, is cured with a milder brine and then cold-smoked. The name dates from a time when much of the salmon in New York City came from Nova Scotia. Today, however, the name refers to the milder brining, as compared to regular lox (“Belly Lox”), and the fish may come from other waters or even be raised on farms.”

    So to answer our question, the smoked salmon you had may have been neither regular or nova lox. I don’t know if I’ve had smoked salmon, but I much prefer regular lox to the less salty nova variety.

    Nova seems to be much more popular, as regular lox has become increasingly more difficult to find, even in bagel stores. Regular lox may be a bit too salty for the general public, but as a salt fiend, I think nothing compares to regular lox.


Leave a Reply

Categories

