Posted by: Hil | August 26, 2008

Whirlwind Tuesday

IMG_2383 

Tuesdays are my busy day, and I survived the first one surprisingly intact.  Breakfast was pretty standard:  Ezekiel English muffin half with peanut butter, half an apple, and a homemade double nonfat cappuccino.

IMG_2384

I still can’t get over how pretty my espresso drinks look.

IMG_2386 

For lunch, I packed a whole sandwich again, this time stuffed with roasted red peppers, spinach and goat cheese.  I am becoming a huge fan of jarred roasted red peppers.  They add instant punch to sandwiches and pasta dishes and they are often cheaper than buying fresh peppers and roasting them yourself.  Go figure.   This sandwich was very tasty and was easy to eat quietly–an important consideration given that I had to eat it in class.  Next time I might add some beans or something to it for extra sticking power.  Since this sandwich was heavy on the veggies and not terribly high in calories, I was initially planning on supplementing it with a cup of hot soup from the law school cafe.  But of course I neglected to remember that the cafe isn’t serving lunch yet at 10:30 and has stopped serving lunch by 3:00.  I only have 10-15 minutes to get from one class to the next, so buying any soup between classes was not an option.  So I ended up buying a little mini bar of 85% dark chocolate.  About 3/4 oz. of that was an tasty caloric boost to my lunch.

IMG_2388 

To go with my sandwich, I packed celery sticks, cherry tomatoes and the other half of my apple.  These were too crunchy to eat in class, so I ate my apple during one ten minute break and my veggies during another ten minute break.  The system worked quite well.  For my mid-afternoon snack, I packed a handful of spicy peanuts mixed with raisins. 

IMG_2389

While I did have to space out my crunchy vegetables and fruit, I only had one real snack today.  I am really excited–I have nothing against snacks, but I’m so much more psychologically satisfied when I eat real meals.  Eating in class and on the go isn’t my preferred dining experience, but if I can survive under those conditions, I can eat well anywhere.

Responses

  1. Glad you made it through your busy Tuesday in one piece!! Have a lovely evening 🙂

  2. cool blog! Like to hear about law school. As a recent law grad and bar passer myself, I can def relate. Good luck, dont study too much!


Leave a Reply

Categories

